A Belated Turkey Day Message…

Standard

kk-gingera.jpgthanksgiving-024a.jpgThanksgiving has been one of my favorite holidays for quite awhile.  I always like how Thanksgiving meant guaranteed time with friends and family.  With basketball during college, I lost that valuable time that I treasured.  Granted, I got to spend it with teammates, coaches, and fans…and some of those people had some great food hook-ups…but it just wasn’t the same as the good ol’ days.  So, you better believe, as soon as Christmas of my senior season came I mailed out invitations to the following year’s Thanksgiving.  Yes, that’s right-11 months ahead of time!  My first Thanksgiving back after such a long hiatus will always be remembered in my heart!  The actual Thanksgiving day has been spent with my dad’s family the last few years.  In order to account for this, my mom has started the wonderful tradition of an early…or, as in this year, a late….thanksgiving celebration.  It is now up tied for my favorite holiday.  We just finished celebrating Thanksgiving this past Saturday and it was great!  Both Thanksgiving celebrations were smaller than usual, but very lively nonetheless!  Thanks to my sister, I even was inspired to cook!  AND IT WAS AWESOME!!  You really should check out the Food Network online.  Sweet Potato Balls are “decadent”, as my mom’s friend said.

This being said, now this season has come and gone and Christmas is right around the corner!  I can’t wait for all of the celebrations and traditions that come along with this time of year.  I forget how lucky I am to be surrounded by such an awesome family and incredible friends.  So, in the spirit of Thanksgiving, thanks to you!

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

2 responses »

  1. sweet potato balls= decadent? i was going more with, barftastic! if i even smell a sweet potato, i will throw up right there on the spot!

Leave a Reply

