Reflection?

Standard

roller-coaster.jpgT minus 36 hours until I have to report back to work.  I do believe that winter break, spring break, and summer break are three things that will keep me in education.  I was feeling pretty good about work before the break, but have since lost some motivation.  I am hoping that when I am greeted with my students’ bright and shining faces, I will once again be reminded why I do what I do.

As I reflect back on this year…and the past few years at that, I get a variety of feelings.  It’s kinda bittersweet, if you will.  And I think you will.  I am satisfied that I stuck out my commitment to Teach for America and made it through those first two years and am having a much better third year.  I am touched by so many of my students and what they have accomplished and the perseverence they have shown.  I am tormented by a feeling that I have not done enough, but comforted knowing that I have done all that I can. 

Life really is such an interesting roller coaster.  Sometimes it’s hard to stay ahead of the game!  I know that I have a tendency to fill my life up with so many things, much to many others’ dismay, but for the most part I feel good about what I do.  I still have nights like tonight where I can just sit and chill and hang out with myself.  I make time to read, my house is somewhat clean, I laugh often, and I consider myself generally happy.  I hope my friends and family know I will always do what I can to be there for them. 

So, here’s to a new year: 2008!  I have resolved not to make any resolutions, per say ,this year.  Instead I am just trying to live it up!  Here is a 5 + 2 to conclude this random blog of mine.

1. I got to spend the last five days with my wonderful friend, Trisha, in town from Michigan.

2. We went to Universal Studios yesterday (despite the rain) and got soaked!

3. I have had this day to sit, relax, read, and do not much of anything.

4. I have not had to work over the last three weeks and have definitely had an EXCELLENT break!

5. I have gotten caught up on many people’s blogs and added them to my blogroll.

And, two things I’m looking forward to:

1. My sister is coming back home in about a week!

2. Bible School starts on Tuesday night 🙂

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

2 responses »

  1. you have done so much with your students, and you need to proud about that! and they have accomplished so much with your help!! there will always be more you can do, but that’s what the future is for 🙂 don’t let it diminish what you’ve already done – you are so amazing and have so much to be proud of!!

    and looking forward to going back? one word: donny. [did i spell that right?] that alone makes me want to come back to gompers. that, and sunshine. and warm weather. and working with young people. and some of my most favorite people in the whole world! and la in general. like sushi. and the beach. and coldstone [which we also have here on the east coast, but who wants to eat that when it feels like 6 degrees outside?]

    i miss you. i can’t wait to see you. i hope we can catch up before then but if not i am so excited to hear all about your life!! i miss you!!! good luck on your first day back 🙂

  2. There will always be more you can do – teaching is a cycle of continuous self-improvement – but you have already done so much for your students, and their accomplishments show that. You are amazing! Be proud! The work you do is truly inspiring [and I mean that despite my current job.]

    Top 5 reasons to look forward to going back to work tomorrow…
    5. A.A. needs someone to overanalyze with
    4. Where else can you see some colorful murals on the sides of school buildings?
    3. Don’t you kind of miss walking on top of milk cartons as you walk to your classroom?
    2. That darn achievement gap
    1. Donny J. And all of your other adorable students.

    I know those are reasons enough to make me miss it 🙂 AND YOU! I can’t wait wait wait to see you! Hopefully we can catch up a little before then. I am SO EXCITED to be coming!!

Leave a Reply

