Rock Band

Standard

rock-band-screen.jpgSo, I have a new found love.  It’s border-line obsession, as a matter of fact.  I realized this last night when I was up until 2am with our newly formed band, The Speed Beasts (Kelton/Kate-vocals, El/Elvis-guitar, Dog …/Acosta-drums, and Windrose/Myself-bass).  I was just introduced to this new love on Wednesday, merely by hapenstance.  I was planning on spending the day alone: cleaning my room, reflecting on the first day back at work, reading, etc.  Due to a lockdown of my neighborhood, though, things took a turn for the better.  I ended up at my little BFF’s house (a.k.a. Acosta, Adrian, My lil’ Acosta, Coasters, etc.) along with Kate and her boyfriend, Elvis.  I arrived at approximately 4:30pm and other than the 60 minute break I took for working out, we played straight through 11pm.  On a school night.  What rebels!

The love turned obsession last night.  Only my second time playing, I was addicted.  I got over to Acosta’s around 10:30pm.  He and the rest of our band had been practicing for not too long, but could not beat this one song.  We had already acquired a tour bus, roadies, eleven new venues, and three more cities, but we were desperate for more.  I think we must have literally played this song approximately 17 times and at one point even successfully completed 95% of the song before being boo’ed of the stage.  We were finally getting to the point where we were getting extremely frustrated and borderline exhausted when we opted for one more attempt.  It was approximately 1:32am when we probably woke up half of Inglewood with our cheers, screams, and high fives when we finally completed Train Kept A-Rollin’ by Aerosmith.  I realized this might be a problem when I instantly thought that finishing this song was probably my biggest accomplishment in the last few months.  I apparently need more challenges in my life.

But, really.  Acosta and I probably just spent 20 minutes of our phone conversation discussing the benefits of Rock Band and wondering why it did not come out sooner.  These are some of the benefits we have found:

  • Everyone wants to be a Rock Star.  Come on, you know it.
  • It promotes team-work and the atmosphere of cooperation, encouragement, and perseverance
  • You can see your mistakes, your improvement, and your progress towards your goals
  • There is a quick learning curve that keeps people motivated and driven to do better
  • It helps with rhythm.  Really, I do not lie.  I went to a black church today and felt much more capable in my clapping, dancing, and worshiping abilities. 
  • It builds confidence.

I am happy to report that The Speed Beasts have also now acquired a jet plane to go on our world tour with.  It really is a lot of pressure, but we are rising to the occasion.  Unfortunately, practice and tours had to be postponed today due to soreness in some of the band members (Really.  We have to take stretch breaks, give each other hand massages, and make sure to have plenty of water bottles nearby.  This is no laughing matter).

If you do not know Rock Band, you are truly missing out.  Google it and get back to me.

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

6 responses »

  1. I am really impressed with your dedication and perseverance to a goal. And I agree there are many more benefits to Rock band besides entertainment. Now, when I hear Dani California come on, I can sing all those words he mumbles.

    Maybe one day “the Jerks” can open for you guys on tour.

  2. Ok … when I made fun of Jamie Friesen about Rock Band, I hadn’t played … but Friday was the day for me … and I’m addicted too! Thankfully, the closest Rock Band friend I have is about 12 miles away, so I can separate myself safely. I’m an amazing drummer, should your drummer collapse or something.

  3. This is, by far, my fav. of your blogs. I can totally relate. I’ve been obsessing over this thing since Nov. when it came out and it’s good to see I’m not the only one. I actually got to play with Acosta, Hess and a few other people on Fri. It was a blast. We need to get one giant jam session going real soon. Keep on writing. I enjoy reading these very much.

  4. I have several issues with this blog. 3 things (with 3 fingers in the air, for visual learners; a la Halsig):

    1. “Dog…” is not my full name! I am an artist, and would like to be treated like one!
    I wonder if this is what Prince went through when he changed his name to a sign.
    2. Our band name is also incorrect. There is no “The” in front of our name. It should also be in all caps, with the exception of one of the Es.
    We need to market ourselves in one way to make sure our fans don’t get confused. What if there is another band called The Speed Beast? Our fans may go to their concert and be disappointed.
    3. I don’t like being censored on your blog. Where’s MY freedom of speech?

    That’s all. I’m done. I’m over it. I love you.
    I’m going back to the sanctuary of my drums.

    Peace.
    -D.N.

    P.S. The Drummer will never collapse! (Capital D was intentional).

Leave a Reply

