26 and counting!

Standard

ride.jpgtwister.jpgdisney-castle.jpgcheesecake.jpgbeach.jpgcandles.jpg

Well, it’s official.  I’ve now been wandering this earth for over a quarter of a century.  And what a journey it’s been! I realized today on the beach that I am fortunate in the way I almost have three “new year’s” throughout the course of my year.  Of course, I have the standard New Year’s.  Then there’s my birthday which also calls for some more introspection and improvement.  Finally, I have the beginning of a school year which gets underway in August.  Not so shabby to readdress all the resolutions that might not have taken place at the previous milestone.  I’m still favoring JP’s New Month’s Resolutions idea.  Although, I have come up short on my “do not eat chocolate” resolution of this month.  Only twice though.  But, I have a few new ones that seem successful in my mind for full implementation in April. 

So, this week has been full of birthday festivities.  So much so that my friend who came in town for my birthday forgot today was actually my birthday because I’ve “been milking it all weekend”  😉  So, let’s do a quick recap for those of you in dire need to hear about all of my whereabouts!

  • Thursday:  Jen Cheaney drove in town from Santa Cruz and got in about 1am
  • Friday: Went to work, got Pinkberry’s, went to Amber’s for her birthday dinner party celebration til midnight
  • Saturday: I had a HerShe meeting, went grocery and Target shopping, arrived at beach for the bonfire after some rocky beginnings!  Afterwards, proceeded to Acosta’s to play Rock Band until 11pm
  • Sunday: Up at 7 to go to my mom and Jim’s for breakfast, Disneyland with Jen and Acosta, had my sister surprised me with Red Velvet Birthday Cupcakes with candles and all, and then to Cheesecake Factory with about 15 friends and fam (thanks again, Jim)!  CRASHED at 8pm.  Snoring, twitching, and all while watching the Food Network
  • Monday: took the day off, went to breakfast with Jen, walked to the beach, hung out with the Sister, got a massage, tutored.  Currently awaiting Patrick to grab some dinner.  And then crash.

WHEW!  Seriously, even for me, this was a jam-packed weekend.  But, despite some rough patches and hard lessons learned and painful experiences, my 25th year has really taken the cake as far as all my years here are concerned.  I have laughed more, loved more, learned more, etc!  And, I look forward continuing on this up and up!  I am so encouraged by the friendships that I have with both friends and family.  I am grateful for all the love I am shown not only on my birthday but day in and day out.  And I am overwhelmed by the amount of people I have in my life that care about me.  So, this is to all of you: thanks for making my 25 years so enjoyable!  And here’s to another 25 times 3 (or more!)  🙂

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

3 responses »

  1. wishing you the best year yet…I hope ALL of your wishes and wants are answered this year as it is a pivotal one………nothing but the best for Special K as she so deserves

Leave a Reply

