Glorious Gompers

Standard

z_06_watts.jpgSome random quotes compiled in my Quote Journal/Laugh Journal (some are really not too funny) that students try to get into:

  • “Stop calling me from jail, you loser.  Get a life.” A cousin of a student as she hangs up her cell phone.  Uhhh….
  • “I want to be a paralegal.  Everyone I know goes to jail: boyfriends, friends, family…I just want to help them out”.  You guessed it, same cousin.
  • “I got saved last weekend”  Sixth grade student, during the summer
  • “Where’d you get that from?  I know you didn’t steal that from the liquor store.”  in reference to the bell on my desk
  • “I hope he grows some fish in his head….for all ‘dem waves!” In reference to Patrick’s hair
  • “Where do you keep learning all these cool things you’re teaching me?”  in reference to reading strategies taught to Ladejeisha
  • “Why are you so thinkative?” a student inquiring about me being deep in thought
  • Student enters with BLARING head phones.  I instruct him to Dance.  His response, “I can’t.  My head hurts….this CD player’s too loud”. 
  • “Have you ever thought about studying abroad?” a question asked to my students to which I hear, “Heck, yeah, I’ll study some broads!”
  • “You actually are funny.  When you pay attention, you are hilarious…but you have to really pay attention”  my class clown talking about me.
  • “It’s all about obeying the laws of physics”  a student with autism as he balanced on a railing.  Not safe. 
  • “I was fresh out of the pen today–then they wanna lock me up again” in reference to a student going back to detention.

They’ll keep you on your toes!  Gotta love it!

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

One response »

  1. So funny … kids can be hilarious.
    My roommate Stefanie tutors kids with learning disabilities and she asked one of them if he knew any of the vocab words for the week. He pointed to “dismount” and said that he knew what that one meant. Then she asked him to define it, and his response was the following: “You know it’s like you got dis mount a money and dat mount a money.”
    🙂

Leave a Reply

