Transition into “Hippy-hood”

Standard

Lately I have been feeling a lot of prompting to become more eco-friendly.  I’m sure this is from a variety of mediums; namely society, living in LA, the influence of some friends, and a lot of marketing of some sort or another (whether consciously aware or not).  I tend to be late to follow trends in many aspects of my life.  I tend to wait until the excitement has kind of died out and then hold on strong past when it’s “cool” (I’m thinking of capris here…which I am still an avid wearer of and I really don’t see this dying out anytime soon in my life.  They really are such an answer to prayers of a 6’3” woman….and would have saved a lot of torment in childhood had they been ‘in’ then.).Anyways, I have made some steps in my life as of late into this “hippy-hood” I look forward to fully incorporating in my life by August 2008.  (You all are well-aware I’m all about lists and timelines!)  A few things I have done: requested  a lunch bag for my birthday so as to stop bringing plastic bags for lunch (thanks, sister!), invested in tupperware to carry my fruit/veggies and sandwiches in rather than plastic bags, and I have frequented Farmer’s Markets (okay, twice) to purchase some local produce and other goodies.  And, today I made my first big step, if you will.  I walked to my local grocery store with my canvas tote bag to go grocery shopping.  I found this to have many benefits other than just the obvious eco-friendly ones: a lot of talk time on the cell phone (looking forward to more talk time, Jenn!), a little exercise, and saving money on gas.  I found myself conflicted on the way home though when I came across approximately 20 plastic bags from the 99 cent store.  I walked past them at first, but returned to pick them up and bring them home with me in order to recycle them at Trader Joe’s.  I also noticed myself feeling a twinge of guilt at any scrap of garbage I would see and this resulted in picking up several pieces of trash along the way (something my dad would be proud of, as he’s often done this while growing up much to our embarrassment…he claimed it paying off his debt to society after smoking for so many years and polluting with the cigarette butts).  I need to find a balance, though, or these walking trips might be quite taxing on me.  But, really, why is it so difficult for people to just throw things away?There are several things I would like to incorporate into my life over the next five months though…and naturally, this sets myself up beautifully for a list:

  • Cut out meat.  I’m going to begin with just being a “pescatarian” and still eat fish; I don’t know if I could do completely without some good salmon or tuna.
  • Get my nose pierced again.  I just really like the way this looks on me.  And, at this point, I have no basketball to get in the way of keeping it in and having it heal.
  • Sell my car and buy a more gas-friendly car that is affordable (I’m thinking a used Honda here)
  • Invest in some more comfortable clothing from select thrift stores (and also some nice accessories.  I really enjoy some good accessories).
  • Read more and write more.  Spend more time at cute little restaurants and coffee shops.
  • Cook dinner more often
  • Cut my hair and donate to Locks of Love again.
  • Continue to walk to grocery stores, visit Farmers’ Markets, and eat healthier.

I would also like to invest in a bicycle depending upon where I end up next year.  Really, these are all many things that I’ve tried at one point or another to do over the last 8-10 years of my life.  But, I figure, I might as well incorporate them now wholeheartedly while I have no other commitments that might distract from this decision.  Because, ultimately, we all benefit.  Right?  Is this weird to anyone I felt the urge to actually blog about this?  I feel it might help hold me accountable though.  I get distracted easily enough as it is.  Thanks.

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

8 responses »

  1. Hi Kar – nice post. As I tell the Readers of Eastside Business (www.EastsideBusinessJournal.com) being green is no longer just a freaky, hippy thing to do. Green is the new cool – and it is good business too – can add to the bottom line and help attract top talent. People in the workforce seem to take a company’s values into consideration before accepting employment these days.

    I was also glad to read that you have donated to Locks of Love and are going to again. Do you know any guys who have done so? I’m at least a little crazy and at 45 have become a Hair Farmer for the benefit of Locks of Love and children who lose their hair because of medical reasons. I’m recruiting others to join, so please check out http://www.TheHairFarmer.com and pass it along.

    Hair Farmer Joe

  2. very nice. i, too, love lists. and feel prompted to be more eco-conscious. it takes time, thought… but as i’ve gotten used to it, i’ve really enjoyed the way it slows my life down a little bit. more walking, cooking at home, browsing farmer’s markets, etc.

  3. I’m excited! Maybe this will push me to become more environmental again. I may even stop eating fast food every meal and actually cook (meaning microwave stuff at home).

    Peace, Love and Happiness for you; S–, D—- and Rock ‘n Roll for me! The way it was meant to be. (We really missed our era.)

    P.S. Sorry this is short. I became nervous when I told you I was actually going to read the full blog, then comment on it.

  4. So, a student just commented on my new wallet (from my dear friend, Ha for my birthday) and said it’s “hippy-ish”. Without knowing my hippy intentions!! Isn’t that exciting?!

Leave a Reply

