Introducing….RegEnDev!

Standard

ion1.jpgenvoy.jpgYep, you got it ladies and gentlemen, dear readers of mine….I have bought a new (used) car!  I had been burdened a few weeks ago and realized that my car was really stressin’ me out.  Between the gas, the insurance, and the payment, the trusty GMC Envoy was running me almost $700 a month!!  NOT okay while trying to get myself out of this credit card debt crisis I have gotten myself into (64.7% paid off since last July!…looking like I’ll be debt-free in August 2008).

So, I almost got one a few weeks ago…but that was really a rash decision.  I went to CarMax, tried to get approved for a loan the next day via a credit union and was disappointed with their APR that they offered.  Plus, I was leaving for Spring Break the following day so it was just too much.

So, there I was last night.  Really trying to procrastinate putting away the mound of eight loads of laundry I have yet to put away, writing IEPs that I need to do, and finding anything to keep me from doing the eleven things on my list of things to do for the evening.  And a commercial came on.  Good job, marketing.  I searched on the Saturn website and found the car I wanted offered for $3,000 under the KBB price with full warranty and as a certified used vehicle.  I called at 8pm to make sure they were still open and showed up at 8:17, test drove it, and was out of the door and said adios to the Envoy at 10:47.  Actually, I don’t even know if I said bye.  Poor guy. 

Anyways, in contemplating a new name/persona for this car I really wanted to make sure it was something that stuck.  I noticed on the way home the alignment seems to be pulling a little to the right (gonna go back to check that out tonight)…but then I was like, well that’s kinda cool he’s always bringing me in the right direction.  So I thought, “Righty” but that just isn’t catchy.  So I came up with Reggie…which sounds similar?  Or at least how it might sound when trying to say Righty with a mouth full of grapes or marshmallows….which ultimately led to Reg.  And my car feels like a ‘Reg’.  Then, this morning as I was driving to school I was listening to the Fish and they were talking about endeavors.  I thought how this car is bringing me on new endeavors in this life of mine: the endeavor of being debt free, living more economically aware,  in this new singleness of mine, trying to decide where God wants me next year, etc.  All-around new endeavors surrounding me right now.  So I thought, “Dev.”  Hence, RegDev.  But, just now as I was typing it….I thought RegEnDev flows a little smoother and really, we can just call him ‘Reg’ for short.   Or just acknowledge him as a 2006 Black Saturn Ion (4 door), which is what he is.  And he will be tinted shortly.  Photos to follow soon.  Generic ones posted now.

I ❤ Reg.

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

4 responses »

  1. as we were leaving vacation today my dad turned to me and said, “you know what i realized, i haven’t checked kar’s korner.” no lie.

    congrats on the new car!! exciting stuff!

  2. I’m so proud of you for the steps you’ve taken regarding getting out of debt!!! That’s so awesome!!! Let’s definitely plan a celebration in August!!!!

  3. So I’m so upset that you are using Bare Minerals and not MaryKay. We are going to have to work on that! I got a first hand look at how you put your make-up on in the car this morning. YOU’RE CRAZY!!!

Leave a Reply

