Livin’ the LA Life

Standard

me-and-rach.jpgSo, really, I have not taken full advantage of living in this extremely diverse city that I live in.  It is full of festivities, concerts, exhibits, beaches, and all-around fun of many kinds that I have not divulged in.  Enter today.

It started out a typical Saturday morning-picked up some students to go cheer on Gompers Middle School’s basketball teams.  Now, while this isn’t typically what I do Saturday, it definitely wasn’t noteworthy or anything completely out of the ordinary.  I work with some pretty cool kids that are great to spend time with.  So, we ran around for a few hours cheering teams on, eating some wings (I momentarily forgot about the fact I haven’t eaten meat in two weeks…oops!  Regular vegetarian/pescatarian influence will begin again tomorrow!), and having fun.

I dropped them off and headed to Amber’s to begin the search for clothing to meet this new “style” I have in mind.  Went to the Vintage Thrift shop to search around, to no avail…but still had a good time doin’ our thang!  Ran back home to eat quick snack and change.  Five of us stuffed into Reg (he’s not quite as roomy as the Envoy…but he gets the job done.  And done well!  Albeit quaintly) and headed to Shay’s photography exhibit in Venice.  It was a cute little studio right by the beach with several artists struttin’ their stuff!  It really was quite elegant.  Complete with wine, conversation, and hors d’oerves (I try to spell this unsuccessfully everytime…but I know you know what I mean).  Throwing my plate full of crumbs onto an older gentleman was highly embarrassing, but he was very understanding for the most part.  I mean, really….who does that?  Dang wind! 

Upon leaving the exhibit, we all decided it would be wonderful if everyone lived in a musical.  Where people sang and danced and busted into choreographed moves randomly on the streets.  You better believe this led to much fun on the walk back to the car.  I’m serious when I say my voice is a little bit scratchy from all the singing.  You really should try this.  Incorporate dance moves and drama when appropriate.  I noticed strangers were not as enthusiastic about this musical approach, as they seemed to believe we were mocking them rather than trying to invite them into this musical world of ours. 

We all skidaddled (once again, not claiming to be a spelling bee winner here) over to Temple Bar to watch Fosforo perform.  Hopefully that link works.  It literally took four attempts to add it in here, and I must admit I am a little bit impressed with myself.   It was really awesome.  In case the link doesn’t work, which is a highly likely assumption, I will just let you know they are a little reggae/punk/electronica/mix/goodness all in one.  If I had posted about Spring Break yet, you would have known about my newfound love of reggae.   Which I also do not know if I am spelling correctly.  Whatever!  Anyways, the evening ended with a fabulous conversation with a musician named Alex.  Not quite famous yet…but a musician nonetheless.

Sorry, Raleigh, I didn’t have the chance to catch up with Jennifer today.  She was busy and had to reschedule.

In light of my last post and the fact I’m feeling a little more uplifted, I’ll go ahead and entertain a 5 + 2:

5 Things I’m Grateful For:

  • That Reg defrosts rapidly and remarkably.  It really was breathtaking.
  • Great friends who like to do cool things and allow me to tag along
  • My students who keep me laughing, motivated, and encouraged
  • Living with my sister: watching Food Network, playing Dr. Mario, plotting against birds, etc.
  • A low-key day tomorrow!

2 Things I Am Looking Forward To:

  • Fun weekend activities over the next two months! (bachelorette party, retreat, Arizona, mom’s wedding, Santa Barbara, Lindsay’s wedding, Grandma’s 90th birthday, Monica’s wedding, etc.)  WHEW!!
  • CST Testing being over and done with so I can relax a little more!

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

5 responses »

  1. I love pretending I’m in a musical. My sis and I do it often. Next time we’re together we’ll have to bust out Sound of Music or another classic! 🙂

  2. ahhhhh. i have a terrible memory, but you have jogged it. we did have that conversation, and i think i even started it. glad it was such a fun day!

Leave a comment