Bye, Bye Bare Minerals

Standard

So, this morning on my way to work while applying my make-up (yes, on my way to work. I know. I am a very unsafe driver. Consider this your warning, if you have not yet taken a ride with me! However, I do like to claim that my passengers, if they were to have their eyes closed, would never realize I was applying make up, eating oatmeal, texting, and/or steering with my knees. As I try to de-stress and simplify my life though, these are some of the multi-tasking habits that have gone first…so do not fret, dear readers of mine! Safety is my number one concern), my whole container of Bare Minerals make up (if you don’t know what this is, it’s all powder…I’m sure you know where this is going…and you should really try it out if you haven’t) spilt over the passenger side of my car, my armrest, the thing where you move from drive to park (what is that called?), and the floor. I momentarily got a little frustrated, but quickly realized it was salvageable. Now, of course, I couldn’t sweep it all up back into the container or much gets lost in the process. And we all know how seriously I am taking this getting out of debt mission I am on…trying not to waste a dime (although that oreo shake last night would probably be considered a “waste”, particularly right after my workout, but it tasted oh-so-good and was well worth the change I dug out from the bottom of my purse and in Reg’s cup holders) so, I just took my little applicator brush, swept it right across one of the piles and continued applying my make up at that red light. This will be the method I use until Friday, when I think it will be all used up. Unfortunately, spilling the make up definitely means I’ll have to make a stop to purchase some more before my flight home on Friday evening, because I just can’t rationalize dust-busting up the remains to put them back in a container able to travel home with me. We used to have rabbits and that’s primarily what the dustbuster was used for. And that’s just gross.

I really can’t believe I just blogged about this, particularly with much more useful things to blog about. I was just amused on my way to work and as I have students silently testing in my room (thank you, Testing Coordinator who can’t really speak Spanish confidently, much less read it, and I have a student in here who moved from Mexico yesterday. God bless her. Welcome to the USA, home of the standardized tests and dehumanizing of students. I mean really. Gotta love NCLB.), I decided what better time to blog away then these few spare moments I have here. It really was not enough time to get deep enough into the Rest & Renewal experiences…but those will shortly follow. As soon as I process through more of it.

FUNNY INTERACTION WITH STUDENT:
I was showing a student, Joshua Cubie (yes, Cubie is his last name), the video of when I did the Zipline at Rest & Renewal. It is essentially just me screaming as you see the landscape pass by me below. He asked why I was scared and my response was, “Well, I was really high”. It was only after I verbalized this that I realized what I had said. But, his response was simple, “oh”. And he really thought I was speaking about a marijuana-type high. After giggling a little from the shock, I had to clarify that I was high in the air, not high on drugs. He was just like, “oh, I thought you meant you were really high and was going all crazy and stuff.” From a student’s perspective, wouldn’t you find it strange that a teacher would be talking to him about being high?!?

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

One response »

Leave a Reply

