Good Reads?

Standard

In anticipation for the upcoming summer break (okay, I know we still have nine weeks) I am starting to compile a reading list! Through books mentioned in Bible College, books people have written about in blogs, books friends have suggested, ones I’ve seen while meandering through the bookstore, etc. I have started a list. Of course, I know it is a little overly ambitious…but I’d like to get some feedback to narrow it down! Let me know if you’ve read any, heard of any, suggest that I not read some, etc. Or, of course, if you have some other suggestions, I’ll take those as well!

-“A New Kind of Urban Christian” by Tim Keller
-“What’s So Amazing About Grace?” by Phillip Yancey
-“Invitation to Solitude and Silence” by Ruth Barton
-“The Cross on the Switchblade” by David Wilkerson
-“I Dared to Call Him Father” by Bilquis Sheikh
-“In His Steps” by Charles Sheldon
-“They Shall Expel Demons” by Derek Prince
-“The Cross in the New Testament” by Leon Morris
-“Bone of His Bone” by F. J. Huegel
-“Why We’re Not Emergent: by Two Guys who Should Be” by K. DeYoung and T. Kluck
-“Serve God, Save the Planet” by Matthew Sleeth
-“The Irresistable Revolution” by Shane Claiborne
-“Living Beyond Yourself” by Beth Moore
-“A Heart for the City” by John Fuder
-“Now How Shall We Live” by Charles Colson
-“Total Truth” by Nancy Pearcey

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

6 responses »

  1. i’d like to check out “why we’re not emergent”. and i’d like to suggest that you add some quality non-fiction (or even fiction) to keep it from being too spiritually heavy. i like to read travel memoirs and take a break from inspecting the blackness of my heart, every now and then.

  2. Fabulous suggestion! I tend to fill my life with these types of books you mentioned (my favorite is Nicholas Sparks), so it’s probably good for me to challenge myself every now and then. I tend to live in a Bubble World that is quite fabulous, albeit unrealistic! 🙂 I would love some suggestions on any good memoirs or fiction books you’ve read!

  3. i read a lot of non-fiction (into thin air, it’s not about the bike, the perfect storm, in harm’s way), true stories of courage or disaster or real life. i’ll have to think of any worth recommending. and fiction… well, i love jane austen. and the lord of the rings.

  4. Oooooh…”The Irresistible Revolution” is a good one…I’ve read it a couple of times now, and it really makes you rethink how you live your life!

  5. More Suggestions for you Karolyn — as if you need anything to add to the commendable list. 🙂

    First some nonfiction greatness I’ve read in the past year (in order of how much I personally liked the book):
    Mountains Beyond Mountains by Tracy Kidder (inspiring bio of Dr. Paul Farmer)
    A Severe Mercy by Sheldon Vanauken (this is both biographical and spiritual. And it’s an amazing love story)
    The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls (an almost unbelievable, riveting memoir)
    Travels With Charley by John Steinbeck (part travel book, part philosophy on American culture told by one of America’s best writers)
    And anything by Jon Krakauer or Sebastian Junger (like Into the Wild, Into Thin Air or The Perfect Storm) is definitely worth your time.
    Oh and one more memoir about an alcoholic who finds faith — “Parched” by Heather King

    If you want to try poetry I would recommend:
    The Four Quartets by T.S. Eliot (deep, philosophical verses … which I find gets me thinking more than your typical how to live the Christian life book)
    Or anything by W.H. Auden or Emily Dickinson or Thoreau

  6. Hi, my name is Dustin and I work with a Christian environmental organization called Christians in Conservation: A Rocha USA. I noticed that you mentioned the book “Serve God, Save the Planet” in your post, and I thought that you might like to know that sponsors its author, Dr. Matthew Sleeth, as a “creation care evangelist.” We would love for you to check us out at our website, en.arocha.org/usa. You might also be interested in the website for Dr. Sleeth’s book, http://www.servegodsavetheplanet.org.

    On a completely unrelated note, I can agree with Becky that the Four Quartets are incredible. I actually spent all semester studying them in a seminar in college, and they are well worth whatever time you give to them.

Leave a Reply

