Just Another Manic Monday

Standard

So, my day begins.  I’m still a little bitter about the fact that I woke up in amidst a hot flash a few hours prior and immediately stormed the house in a sweaty panic looking for an extra fan to cool my hot self back to sleep.  Thank you, sister, for your prompt attention to this matter.

On the other hand, I am pretty satisfied with my night’s sleep because it was one of those that erroneously seemed to last much longer than it truly was.  Then I kinda got startled as I opened my bedroom door and noted that the TV was still blasting and realized our windows were wide open with the blinds pulled back revealing everything to the world.  I then realized my sister’s friend had opted to crash in the middle of our family room as my sister’s room resembled more of a hot sauna or steambath than comfortable sleeeping accommodations.

As I rushed and got ready for work, I was feeling pretty proud of my 12 minute timing and was ready to head out the door with my lunch, dinner, and snacks packed for the day along with a bag to go to the gym right after tutoring.  Totally on it for a Monday, if I do say so myself.  I jumped in RegEnDev ready for the week which includes building a bike for my upcoming triathlon, having my mom visit during work Wednesday,  two days of sub coverage to get stuff done for the impending testing that’s right around the corner, and a weekend FCA reunion in Santa Barbara.  So, really, a pretty stellar week up ahead.  You know you’re jealous.

So, I continue along my merry way.  I remember seeing several of the same students I see everyday at the bus stop and wonder if they’re beginning to recognize me as well…or if I’m too sporadic in my departure times to really even be noted.  I go through one stop sign, then another.  And that’s when I hear it.  We all know the dreaded sound.  Sirens.  And not just any sirens.  Sirens that are clearly after you.  So I obligingly pull over and here’s the conversation that followed after I manually rolled down Reg’s window (thankfully the sticky sticker has given way enough that this is a possibility; not so a few days ago):

Officer: “So, do you know why I pulled you over?”   

Me:  “Yeah, I just ran a stop sign”

Officer: “Two actually.  And the second one I was right behind you.”

Me: “Oh, yeah.  Oops.”  Must have been when I was looking for my make up brush to scoop up some of the make up that spilled on my middle console and that I still use daily for the sake of saving money.  Don’t think this interaction is gonna help any in the save money department.

Officer: “Are you in a hurry to go to work?  Where do you work?”

Me: “Yeah, I guess.  I’m a teacher at Gompers Middle School in Watts.”  Yeah, I admit it…trying to get mercy points here.  I mean something’s gotta give, right?!  It’s Monday morning!

Officer: “Woah, that might be more dangerous than my job…license and registration?”

Me: Actually, after the recent news and local street closings due to your fellow officers being shot and the shooters subsequently found hiding in my neighbor’s jacuzzi, I find it hard to believe you really think my job is more dangerous. “Actually, I just bought my car and interestingly enough, my registration got in the mail Saturday and I didn’t bring it with me.  I do have my license.  Although, the address is wrong.  I did go to the DMV and tell them about the address change” Too much information, I know.  What I didn’t say was that I updated my address two years ago at my previous address change, in which they never sent me a new license.  Really doesn’t seem like my problem though.  Disorganization serves noone good.

So, that’s how it got started.  But, the big revelation came next.  As he was writing my ticket, I found myself enjoying my time just sitting.  I had the opportunity to apply makeup without having to worry about driving at the same time, which I found to be much safer, less stressful, and led to a more even application.  I also was able to sing along to Matt Redman and really started thanking God for the reminder to just sit and savor time with him.  And that’s subsequently when I realized I am absolutely too busy.  To be praising God for a traffic violation solely for the opportunity to sit is pretty sick.  I need a change of life pace.  And soon.  All of this peace lasted about three to five minutes until I realized I was blocking a driveway in which two cars were waiting to leave.  I tried moving to let them out…but, you guessed it…cops aren’t too fond of that.  He loudly proclaimed they could wait and I sat where I was.  Embarrassing.

But, he did apologize for yelling at me afterwards and “just gave me a citation for running the one stop sign since that’s what he was put there to do since they’re having problems with it lately”.  Well, no wonder.  It’s a pointless stop sign.  And I probably run it three times daily.  So, really, I can’t be too mad.  The nice officer “just advised me on the second stop sign” rather than citing me twice for the same violation one block apart from each other.  What a saint!

Any other interesting citations amongst my blogging friends?

                                                                              

 

 

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

7 responses »

  1. Ok Kar – I’ve got a book recommendation for you … I think it may change your life – it’s changing mine! “Making Room for Life.” It’s radical, but you’re just crazy enough to make it work! Tell you more this weekend. I SURE hope even though you all aren’t crashing in the Blue Room due to our other guests that we’ll still get AMPLE time together!!???

  2. I run this stupid stop sign by my house everyday too. I may be more careful after hearing your story — thanks for sharing! No citations for me yet — never been pulled over in nearly 10 years of licensed driving (and I never got pulled over for my unlicensed driving either, though most of that was done with my pops sitting shotgun).

  3. can i suggest dinner or getting together on Friday night in SB since I now have to be out of town ALL weekend for track?!?!

  4. I spilled my Bare Minerals all over the counter in the bathroom this morning, and as I scooped them back into the container, I thought of you! Not quite as tragic as your own spillage since the bathroom counter was just cleaned and is a smooth surface, but disappointing nonetheless!

    Also, my dad is OBSESSED with the Once soundtrack.

    Be a safe driver,
    Jenn

Leave a Reply

