Perspective

Standard

Today, on my flight home, I was once again reminded of God’s sovereignty and beautiful promises and faithfulness. I had fallen asleep before the plane even took off while we were idling in the runway. About an hour later, I woke up just in time to see my favorite view (similar to one I’ve shared on here before) of the clouds and how beautiful they are when you look down upon them. They really just remind me of the heaven I picture (although I know it might not be realistic…you all know what I’m talking about!). I fell back asleep smiling since I felt God had nudged me awake just to allow me see that wondrous view. A few minutes (seconds?) later I woke up again and peered out the window to see myself in the midst of those clouds I had just admired. And it was kinda ugly. Gray and blurry and really not much to write home about. And it made the ride bumpy for a short while. This reminded me of the importance of perspective. Moments before, I had admired God’s beautiful layout and intricate design of the clouds. However, now in the midst of those clouds, I was not as amused.

This reminded me of my life right now. While a little bit removed (like I was this weekend while at home for Lindsay’s wedding), I can think about all I have to do and feel okay, satisfied, and even encouraged and calm at times. But, while in the midst of things (Tuesday night comes to mind, Jamie and Bekah), I get distraught, disheartened, overwhelmed, etc. So, while flying through the clouds, I was reminded it’s all about a shift of perspective. Things this week with Testing might suck a little bit. Hey, maybe even a lot. But, once I’m a little removed from the situation, I’ll be able to relax and breathe, and even remember that God’s beauty and grace and goodness were reflected even in the worst of times. And really, it’s not even the worst of times. It just seems so from that perspective.

American Heritage Dictionary
per·spec·tive (pər-spěk’tĭv)
n.

1. A view or vista.
2. A mental view or outlook: “It is useful occasionally to look at the past to gain a perspective on the present” (Fabian Linden).
3. The relationship of aspects of a subject to each other and to a whole: a perspective of history; a need to view the problem in the proper perspective.

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

2 responses »

  1. perspective and attitude are often reflective of each other. One must always remember to have an attitude of gratitude, so that one’s perspective is better, hopeful and positive. I found a gratitude list once when I had just finished writing a resentment list. (or visa versa) God showed me that it is my perspective and attitude that decides what is on which list. They were almost identical! I choose my attitude today and allow God to work in my life

Leave a Reply

