All the Beautiful People

Standard

I really love people. It’s kind of an obsession actually. I just love talking to people, and listening to people, and meeting people, and learning from people. Seeing people smile and hearing them laugh just brings me such joy. I can think of several incidences in the last day that have brought me such joy:

  • A teacher yesterday staying afterschool to thank me for all I have done with the testing and making it run so smoothly.  She was so deliberate in pointing out how beautiful I was and that it meant so much to her that I was always positive.  (Thank you, Jesus!)
  • The employees at In ‘N Out Yesterday were so incredibly helpful and friendly.  I’m not kidding when I say they ran to assist me when I brought back in my cheeseburger because it was supposed to be a grilled cheese (I think I accidentally ordered a grilled cheeseburger…oops!)
  • This lady just knocked on my door this morning to get me to vote for some Supervisor of the City.  We had such a lovely conversation about education, inequality, human rights, etc.  Granted, I know she’s out politicking (sp?), but it still felt like a genuine conversation

 
Having these kind of brief, and rather shallow-I admit, interactions reminds me of the good in people. So much of life is tainted by the bad and it gets discouraging and disheartening. I can think of one such incident that completely breaks my heart (please note, this is obviously not going to be an uplifting story, so don’t feel pressure to continue reading if you don’t want to):

  • I was looking forward to this morning.  It was going to be the first time since April 29th (yes, I consulted my planner for this tidbit) I was able to sleep in without an alarm.  Of course, at 6:17 I awoke in a state of panic thinking I was late to work where I am so desperately needed to disseminate testing material.  It took several attempts to remind myself it was Saturday before falling back to sleep.  Forty minutes later, I was awakened by a man screaming at a woman.  It included the “f word” approximately every other word, an average of four to six times per sentence.  So much so, I couldn’t even understand what he was attempting to communicate because it was so dominated by his other choice word.  For those of you who haven’t been to my apartment, I wasn’t just being completely nosey here…there really is no avoiding hearing parts of other people’s elevated conversations because of the close proximity.   After screaming out my window, “Everyone can hear you.  Shut up!” and hearing the reply, “Shut the f&%* up, b$%&*”, I realized I was a little out of my league here.  This being said, I really am not even afraid at my house because I know if anything happens, I’ll be able to scream and have approximately 271 people hear.  Which is what the woman involved in this verbal altercation was driven to do when the man got violent.  It was horrible.  I did call the police.  I was glad when I heard from the dispatcher that someone else had also reported it.  I was definitely shaking because I was so rattled by this.  And I just sat and prayed for them until I heard the police arrive.  Isn’t that a lovely way to wake up?

I am saddened for the woman involved in this because I am not naive enough to believe this was the first time this had happened.  It just breaks my heart this stuff goes on around us all of the time, and oftentimes is avoided or covered up.  It makes me grateful for the positive interactions I do have and prayerful for the ones that aren’t so positive.

 

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

