These Are a Few of My Favorite Things!

Standard

Hallelujah!!! Testing is offically done with. I use the term ‘officially’ with trepidation here…as I realized today I forgot to turn in five forms I was supposed to (they are letting me fax it tomorrow) and I am certain they will be calling within the week to inform me of something that I’ve done wrong (thankfully, it’s usually fixable!) So, tomorrow it’s back to the classroom after FOUR WEEKS out!! I really, really miss my students (although many of them have been swinging by periodically to wish me well and remind me of what a bad decision I made).

Anyways, after I went to turn in the materials at 11am, I decided to make it an “All About Me” kinda day! So, I called up to the massage college and set up an appointment. First, I went home to organize my life a little and got to see Risa & Co. (the four recent high school grads who are staying with me) before they headed out to Hollywood (I am thoroughly enjoying the Tillman invasion…and look forward to another Tillman visit in June!)

I then proceeded to jump in my car (after watching them fully utilize team work to back out of my carport without damaging the car…those of you have been here know what a challenge that proves to be!). A lot of productivity quickly ensued. I went to Sports Authority and bought some cycling get up, went tanning (I know, I know), got some Jamba Juice, and headed to my massage appointment at my alma mater Massage School where I enjoyed a fabulous massage. My massage therapist’s name was Paul and we just had a ball (no rhyme intended here initially). We had a wonderful conversation about life: education, exploring options, following your passion, approaching 30, etc. He moved out here a few years ago from Chicago to pursue his writing and spoken word career. Which led me to tell him about Rosalyn, the little girl I mentor who is absolutely captivating when it comes to public speaking, and in particular, spoken word. So, at the end of my hour and a half massage session (it was supposed to be an hour, but we got lost in conversation and he lost track of time which is a-ok by me because, being 6’3”, I feel an hour massage doesn’t fully get all of my body thoroughly), he ran out to his car to give me a DVD and brochures to give to Rosalyn. I haven’t checked it all out yet, but you sure can here.

Upon leaving the fabulous massage, I went on a half hour run on the beach in preparation for this triathlon I have in less than three weeks! I stopped by at Trader Joe’s to get some necessities and came upon Dark Chocolate covered Joe-Joe’s. Really not okay because they are so amazing! Consider this your warning: do not try these cookies. I also got my car washed, which is always so gratifying when you can see out the windows even with the sun shining in because the dirt is not reflecting it making you blind.

I came back home to jump on my bike and head to the P.O. and bank with my recently purchased helmet. I am slightly unconfident (real word?) in my biking skills. I feel a little threatened by the big cars and don’t want to be annoying to them when I’m in the lane…but know that I am not supposed to dominate the sidewalks either. I’m sure I’ll grow more confident as the practice continues. But, let me tell you…after all of about a 1.2 mile round trip, I am definitely in need of some suggestions for a good bike seat. I mean, seriously. As soon as possible. Preferrably with some padding.

All in all, today turned out to be a pretty fabulous day! The only sad part is that our neighbors are moving…and although I’ve never had an actual conversation with them (language barrier and I’m also ‘unconfident’ in my Spanish speaking abilities which is annoying) and even though it sometimes resembles a playground with all the kids running around and random fiestas they have, they really are a sweet family with two beautiful children! Best wishes to my neighbors! (I always have a weird thing about when people leave me…I’m used to doing the leaving!)

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

4 responses »

  1. ahem, wow. what a day. i was feeling good because i did some major dusting before soccer tryouts… but you, you my friend, had an astounding day. congrats.

  2. Honestly, the bike seat thing is simply putting in consistent hours on the bike … your butt just has to get used to being in the saddle! What kind of bike do you have?

Leave a Reply

