I Did It!

Standard

Here’s a little post to toot my own horn (not literally, as I have not yet bought one for my bike…but it is my intention to do so):

I rode my beautiful bike (I’m leaning towards ‘Mellow Yellow’, Becky) to work today! Granted, I only live five miles from work and it took me 35 minutes, but I did it nonetheless!

Things I overestimated:
-My biking ability (although it turned out just fine in the end)

Things I underestimated:
-The size of the two hills on the way to work (really not substantial at all, but painful at the time)
-How hot it was going to be whilst working out (a co-worker recommended that I not clean up and have the kids go through what we go through everyday)
-The value of mapping out my route beforehand (I got lost in a neighborhood which probably added a half mile to my trip)
-The size and tenacity of Metro buses; they are frightening!
-The envy I would feel towards people on the Metro!
-The sense of accomplishment I would feel upon arriving to work and having a standing ovation in the front office!

So, here’s to more bike riding!! (I need a nap.)

 

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

3 responses »

  1. I bike to work too, but it’s only a mile or two. Definitely watch out for the buses, they don’t stop!! … Also, watch our for cars parked on the street who open their doors right as you ride by, you wouldn’t want to get clothes lined. It hasn’t happened to me yet, but I have heard some stories. Also, you gotta help me name my road bike. I have had it for almost a year and still it is nameless. It is a light blue (sky blue if you will) trek 1600 road bike!

Leave a Reply

