Microwave Generation

Standard

I think this phenomena of the “microwave generation” is negatively impacting all aspects of our American life.  For those of you who haven’t heard of this phrase, it’s basically referring to the fact that we have become accustomed to things instantaneously rather than waiting for something in its own time.

There are several things that are leading to this post: conversations, reflections, reading, and more than likely a huge influence is the time-it is 1:30am and I am exhausted, but keep thinking about this thought I am going to try to put into words.

We are created in God’s image.  I believe the creation all around us reflects God’s character-in this, I am also referring to seasons, plants, harvests, nature, etc.  It breaks my heart that so much of our image of God is being jaded by the culture we are surrounded by-this so-called “microwave generation” mentality.  There is a time where a carrot is nothing but a tiny thing under the ground.  In looking at the ground, it sure doesn’t seem like there’s much going on-especially not something actively being created that could potentially help sustain us, nourish us, and replenish us.  Oftentimes in seasons of loneliness, frustration, and dissatisfaction in our lives, we expect a quick fix.  Rather, I expect a quick fix.  I don’t want to go through the negative to get to the positive.  I just want it all positive.  And right now.  Or even yesterday.

I have been so encouraged by reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle and through conversations at my Bible Study tonight at how much God’s character truly is revealed through His creation.  I have been disillusioned by this “need” for busyness, and doing (we are human beings afterall, right?  Not human doings), and productivity as measured by what I can mark of my list.  I pray that I can be more sensitive to His desire for my life-rather than my society’s desire for my life.  That I can sit still and bask in the knowledge that HE I S GOD.  I desire to reflect Him in all that I do-not just at the times that are convenient, or when I feel like it, or when it’s my desire.  Different things are in season at different times.  I want to wholeheartedly embrace what I am experiencing in this season.  A season of singleness (despite my desire to have children), a season of transition (despite my desire for stability), a season of relying on Him (despite my desire to map it all out), a season to learn and grown (despite my desire to be complacent), a season of learning to slow down (despite my desire to go, go, go) and a season of nobody commenting on my blog (despite my desire to have hundreds of comments daily) ;-). 

What season are you in?

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

6 responses »

  1. I was just telling my Homegroup of my own, “need it right now” attitude when it comes to purchasing … I’ll suddenly decide, “We need a new hose reel,” and I’ll immediately get in the gas-guzzler and drive all about town looking for the item. There is something in the waiting that our culture has missed out on … waiting for the tomato plant to sprout, then grow, then produce a fruit. We miss that when we drive to Ralph’s and purchase a shiny red tomato. I’m on “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle” also!

  2. lovely point. i liked in AVM when she spoke of the irony it is when we tell young people to wait for sex but don’t teach them to wait for anything else in life. no wonder we have such a hard time waiting for anything good in life…

  3. in the guilt zone. Comment alot. and am in the acceptance area of life and find it serene and happy and fully of gratitutde for God’s will. Of course it took me 56 maybe a little less years to get there!. Be patient and trust that God has the best plan. It would be cool to see you realize that a decade or so before me! You are right where you are supposed to be. ACCEPTANCE – always another chance to practice acceptance. Love you

  4. Karolyn…
    Girl it has been a long, long, long time. I was on your facebook and saw you have a blog. My mom (by the way, says hi and she still loves you) and I just read it and you are so right. Since I have moved back to Houston, it took me a long time to realize ALL things work in GOD’S time just like you said. As I am growing in my faith I am learning to become more comfortable with HIS time. It is a dailty struggle though because I find myself leaning to MY OWN UNDERSTANDING, instead of relying on HIS. But I will get there! What season am I in…all is well! Everything…I am loving living and learning myself and growing closer to HIM. SO IT”S ALL GOOD in the suburbs. 🙂 Please email me your contact info so I can get in touch with you!

Leave a Reply

