Sensitive to His Prompting

Standard

Whew!  What a whirlwind of a few weeks this has been-I feel that it has been abnormally busy even for me!  It really is going on three weeks of leaving the house before 7am and not getting home until after 10pm.  That makes for some long days!  I have also been to and back from FCA camp.  An experience I’ll elaborate on at a later point in this post.

For now, I am going to ramble.  During all of my running around, it’s been awesome to have such an abundance of conversation with the Lord-and about the Lord.  I’ve been feeling nostalgic lately since it’s coming time for another move.  I’m grateful for the time spent here-and looking forward to new adventures.

One statement that popped in my head earlier this evening was the urge to “be sensitive to His prompting”.  A Bible Study leader from long ago (Thanks, Jenny Rose) once told us before reading the Bible we should pray to be sensitive to His prompting.  I thought that was such a cool-and critical thing.  Oftentimes, I briefly look at the Bible to find a specific verse or passage-and it becomes more about me and what I’m trying to find rather than what He’s trying to reveal to me.  Anyways, all of this comes up because ever since the beginning of the school year-and maybe even before-I’ve been feeling the need to dive into the book of Isaiah.  Honestly, I don’t know too much about this book-but it’s come up time and time again in my life-through sermons, books, friends, random conversations, etc.  Just this week, I’ve finally taken heed to His promptings and have started discovering Isaiah-excited to see what He desires to reveal to me.

All of this personal encounter and prompting also brings me back to the time before I was a Christian.  It’s cool to look back to see the ways the Lord was so intimately involved in my life even then.  What a faithful God we serve!  Several things come to mind: going to Youth Group with a teammate and her boyfriend and hearing the song “I Want to Know You” (don’t know if that’s the title-but you know the song I speak of!), me and my mom going to church on a more regular basis-and me desiring to have what some of the people around us seemed to have (which I now know was Jesus), laying in my bed crying one night my senior year and feeling the strong urge to read the Word-took a flashlight and searched the bookshelves to find a copy of the Bible I knew we had somewhere, etc.

Although there are times I wish I would have had a relationship with God sooner for some of the heartbreak I feel it might have saved me, I am also grateful for the time I did come to know Him.  It was such an answer to prayer and such a personal encounter, I knew He had called me.  I have seen many friends raised in the church who have doubted, questioned-and even left the church and now are not believers-a lot because it wasn’t theirs.  But God wants us to be His

It’s been so encouraging to spend time with, watch, and listen all God is doing in the heart of one of my dear students, Ladejeisha.  She is such an inspiration to me on so many levels.  Here is what she had to say about camp:

”  Camp was a great experience. I found God in a new way. I found out the reasons why God has me on earth.  He touched me in a way that I never thought was possible.  Now I know that I am a child of God.  When I went to camp, it made me want to go to church because it made me want to hear the word of God more.  It made me know that God is in my heart.  And He gave everybody  a gift, and He gave me a gift to run.  So I’m going to run for the glory of God.  I know that God’s always on my side, no matter what.  God made me think about how much I wasn’t in the Word of God, I didn’t go to church before camp, and I said I was a Christian, but I didn’t really mean it.  Now I know I am a Christian and I know that I truly love God and God’s in my heart.  No matter what I do, I’m still a child of God.  And I know that He brings people to my life for a reason.  He brought me to Karolyn for a reason so I could go to camp and find the true reason for my life.  And now I know God puts me through situations so I can be stronger.”

I think that about sums up how powerful camp was.  And how incredible my summer has been! 

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

