Full Circle…

Standard

I might have noted this in a previous blog entry, but I find it interesting that my sister and I have ended up in opposite places. What I mean by this is she was born in San Diego and I was born near San Francisco-so we’ve swapped and we both seem to fit the respective cities in which we are now living!

All of this being said, I have somewhat felt that living in SD has brought me full circle in my life-not that there aren’t more circles to be experienced, but still…now I am sure you are all wondering what I mean by this statement. Really, it’s just been interesting to note all of the memories that have been experienced around the San Diego area throughout my life. I’m going to try to mention some here:

-My sister was born here (1985) and we lived here for three years-I have even been back to see my handprints still in the cement at our home in Encinitas
-Growing up, my family had a timeshare in Carlsbad-leading to many vacations and frequent visits to the Gaslamp District (1990-2000)
-Many basketball tournaments throughout high school-including one where we stayed at the hotel right off the exit where I now live (1996-2000)
-On my road trip after graduating high school, Lindsay, Desi, Heather, and I ate at the Denny’s off my exit (2000)
-In college, visits back to see Lindsay at USD and meeting up with other friends for random vacations and get togethers (2000-2004)
-Upon graduating college, my mom getting me a timeshare in Carlsbad where me and about 10 friends came and went all week long (2005)
-In the past few years, there have been several FCA reunions in San Diego and once, we even met up with Roxy and Travis at the Island’s located-you got it, right off of our exit (2006-current)

It’s also interesting to be living with a friend from college who has been with me to experience many ups and downs in my life while at the same time be rooming with a new friend, Caitlin, who has admitted that getting to know me is like “opening up a new gift each day”—too funny; good thing she didn’t know all she was getting into or we might not have ever convinced her to come out west! And of course, the opportunity to now live with Jamie, who over the past few years has become a big factor and accountability partner in my walk.

It’s so awesome to look and see God’s hand involved in all aspects of my life. I’m excited to start a new chapter here and look forward to all the fun memories this adventure is sure to make!

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

