Hold Fast

Standard

For those of you who don’t know, I spent the last week on Catalina Island with my H.S.E. class-hiking almost 30 miles, not showering, laughing and crying around the campfire, developing new friendships, and spending time on a ‘solo’.  This was a 24-hour time period we had out in the Catalina wilderness by our lonesome (with our sleeping bags, tarps, Bible, and journal-and, of course, the Lord)-meant to really foster spending time seeking after God.  This entry is a poem I wrote while out there-that shares a little bit of what’s going on in my heart.  But there’s a whole lot!

As I look upon all the beauty You’ve created in front of me
I wonder what happens to all my faith-why it can’t it just be
A single human being amongst the masses of billions of others
Could it be that You’ve created me different than another?

Lord, I believe, but help my unbelief with my own thoughts
Allow me to find strength in the reality; it’s me You’ve bought
Failed relationships, misconceptions, heartbreak-it’s nothing
You’re so much greater than any disappointment I could bring

So, mark this day down as the one I’m determined to be set free
From all the lies, let downs, and decisions I’ve made just for me
Show me Your ways, Oh Lord, and make them my own
Let me accept as Truth all these promises You’ve shown

Upon my asking and accepting, You’ve broken me apart
Rebuilt me from the beginning and given me a fresh start
You’ve captured me from the world I was living in
Taken my heart, made it Your own, cleansed from sin

You’ve stayed true to your ways-yesterday, today, tomorrow
Allow me to do my own as I let go of all my pain and sorrow
Lord, will You give me freedom as I identify myself in You
Hold fast, I will tell myself is absolutely all I need to do

(Rev. 3:3, 1 Cor. 15:2)

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

