Coming Out of The Bitter Barn!

Standard

That’s right folks….I’m attempting to come out of the bitter barn and come play in the hay!  It has been quite a whirlwind of a few weeks here.  Lots of learning, lots of challenges, lots of growth, lots of laughter, lots of loving, etc.  There are days I feel like I have it more together than others.  There are moments I feel like I have it more together than others.  I’ve come to determine a big reason I feel so confused lately is based on the fact I have not taken ANY time to myself.  I’m talking zero.  Now we all know I love people.  LOVE ’em!  However, if I don’t take time to get filled up–I just get exhausted pouring out.  Much easier said than done though at this point in my life.  I live in a house where I love all the girls, I go to school where I’m surrounded by people I want to know better, I travel most weekends to visit people I love, and I am still trying to maintain most of my friendships via the phone, email, and snail mail–something I’m not doing well lately. 

I think I’m mostly frustrated with how my jobless life looks.  I had big ambitions of my time being filled by gardening, trips to the beach, reading books, exercising, eating healthy and lounging.  Well, that’s hardly been the case.  So–I just need to accept that, be grateful for the time I do have, and do a better job at making a plan of how I believe God wants me to be spending this time here and now.  

Any thoughts or words of encouragement?

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

6 responses »

  1. Routine. Routine. Routine (like scheduling in a weekly gardening session and sticking to it like you’ve got a boss out there in the yard whose going to beat you with a hoe if you’re late).
    And when the routine doesn’t happen, as it often doesn’t, don’t be hard on yourself, just know that all those rejuvenating times alone (gardening, reading, updating your blog more often 🙂 ) will happen when they happen. I don’t think that makes any sense, but that’s what my jobless, being back in school life has looked like for the past year or so. I’ve found that whenever i stress about what I’m not doing it doesn’t make what I am doing any more enjoyable, so I just try not to stress.
    Sorry long comment, hope I get to see you soon! Love!

  2. i love becky’s advice. yes, make a plan, try to stick to it (sometimes to get a great thing we have to give up a good thing), and when you don’t… well, roll with the punches! make the most of each day. carpe diem or whatever.

  3. Karolyn. thanks for sharing;) Its okay so no to things and people sometimes. raleigh and becky are very wise so you should definitly lsiten them and find some sort of routine. Every day take time for yourself, even if its 20 minutes. Im sure it has been difficult at home bc I know when i was at school living wtih 6 girls thats all i wanted to do was hang out. Maybe it will be easier when everyone was a more regular schedule. One BIble study I did with my coach on priorities used the metaphor of us being a cup. We start full and we pour out into all these different things: school, friends, sports, work, etc. For the pople pleasers especially you tend to pour out yourself to others constantly. BUT if you are not being poured back into from others, from yourself, and most importantly from God, you are going to be empty and youre going to feel that way. Take care of yourself first;)
    By the way, this may be the first time I have responded to your blog. Hope its a good one. I Love you and am so thankful for you Karolyn!!

  4. hey roomie,
    excited to see how the Lord uses this time you set aside for Him.
    blessed by you, girl.

    (i know you want to have alone time but if you ever want to pray together one morning let me know… or i would love to have another chat session like that one before nacho libre took down stephie-poo)

  5. Praying for you, Karolyn! I’m so proud of you for taking the amazing leap of faith you’ve taken! He’s doing wondrous things!

Leave a Reply

