Ramblings of a Ref

Standard

So, amidst random massages, tutoring my Korean Student, transcribing interviews for a classmate, and other bartering of trades-I have acquired a job as a basketball official.  Tonight was my first night-and it consisted of four women’s rec league games at the YMCA.  The Water Buffalo would have demolished the teams I witnessed tonight.  Thankfully, for the most part, they all still had fun.  I had fun mostly because I was amusing myself with the random trail of thoughts that were going on in my head–some of which I’ll try to relay here:

“Wow-I really shouldn’t have eaten that pizza right before coming here….although, seeing Jamie for dinner surprise sure was nice….I wonder if she’s going to come to the game or not….Woah, what made #21 think that shot was a good idea?  Oh well….Ooops, how did both of you end up on the floor?  I suppose I should call a foul, but I’m going to go ahead and ignore that comment you just made to me and let the game continue…dang, my shoes are sexy.  Gotta love $20 Spalding ‘Genuine Leather’ all black shoes…Seriously, she’s wearing a plastic head band to play in?  That’s cute, actually-but plastic?  Does the YMCA not care about safety these days….Lord, will I ever learn how to manage my time better?….Karolyn, avoid eye contact–you just missed another blatantly obvious foul…okay, really, get over it-just play the game…oops, that’s definitely my second inadvertant whistle of the evening.  In this game.  In this half…Man, my shoes look good–they’d look even better if I were at home playing Tetris right now….but why am I losing so much lately?  How should I change my strategy?…I wonder if I started reffing ‘nubs’ style if anyone would notice…I love Nubs-style…Hmm, I wonder if the YMCA’s fees are less than 24 Hours?  Why am I still paying for a membership I use twice every quarter of a year….’BLUE BALL!”-okay, good, no arguments, that must have been the right call….shoot, I really need to bring aquaphor next time. And some lotion.  It’s windy up in this gym….but really, it just took me seven steps to make it all the way to half court….I’m too sexy for my shoes (singing this tune, naturally)…Hmmm, should I play with this team instead of reffing?  No, I need the money and this is amusing…dang, I should probably be running right now, ‘working unto the Lord’..I feel I’ve gotten progressively lazier as the caliber of these games have progressively worsened…Am I regressing in life?  I mean, back to a basketball official like in college?  Sorority style living?  Back in school?  Tetris?  God, I love the life You’ve blessed me with…88-36, close game, valiant effort, great attitudes….I am so glad I had Jen pluck that random neck hair earlier, that was so annoying…Dude, I’d love to be playing with that precious little kid right now—JAMIE!  ROOMMATE!  You made it…To pee, or not to pee-that is the question….Whew, those four hours flew by…”

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

2 responses »

  1. wow. that is astounding– reads an awful lot like my thoughts while i’m coaching soccer practice. though i think you’re a lot more entertaining. =)

Leave a Reply

