Weekend in Arizona!

Standard

Well, folks, it’s true-my weekends as of late have been filled to the brim!  I apologize for boring you with the details yet again-but I’ve come to realize the details are more for me at some point down the line.  It will be nice to be able to look back one day on all the things the Lord has given me the opportunity to experience!  So, feel free to skip on to the next blog-or enjoy the details of another fun-filled weekend 🙂

The party started Thursday–it was Beth’s 25th birthday!  So a few of us headed over to her house to enjoy a delicious meal prepared by Erin and Jen-followed by cake.  And a whole lot of conversation and laughter-some induced by Beth driving her housemate’s wheelchair over a total of three feet (only one of mine included in this count).  It was so nice to enjoy an intimate girls’ night with new and old friends here in San Diego.

056

Friday, it was off to school I went-to prepare some more for this 3 week Road Trip/Mission Trip/Love out Loud Tour we’re going on THIS Friday!!  Afterwards, Jen D. and her pup, Jordan, came over to join me on a drive out to AZ.  Originally, it was going to be five people and two dogs in a car (me not included)-but after my sister decided not to come to town, I thought why not head to AZ as well-to make some more space in their car-and to enjoy some time with my dad and friends!  Plus, heaven forbid I have a down weekend anytime soon!  So, off to AZ it was–and what a trip it turned out to be!  After searching for a Jack in the Box unsuccessfully, we found another one-and a homeless man named John Luke we were able to spend some time talking to and praying with.  Then, back on the road-only to get pulled over for speeding (thankfully the cop was also amused by the ‘Schneple’ address-and let me off with a fix-it ticket for not having my registration).  After that stop, we got pulled over at the Border Patrol station-apparently the drug dog was not happy with Jordan, the pug.  So-we were able to get back on our way!  We rolled into my dad’s house around 10pm.  The second carfull didn’t arrive into town until about 2am-and they stayed out at Ruth’s.

060

Saturday included a lot of fun as well-I was up to enjoy breakfast with my dad.  Jen then went to work out and Lyndsey picked me up to go enjoy a Latin Fusion Dance class-that included a lot of hip action, dancing, awkwardness, laughing, and sweating!  I then got to spend lunch with Lynds, Kevin, and their baby, Gracie!  SO CUTE!!  Then it was back to my dad’s house where Erin, Rachel, and Beth arrived to get ready.  As they got ready I went with Jen Halland and her sister to go hang out at the park, catch up on what’s been going on-and to be attacked by their chihuahua (they tried to convince me giving him a kiss would be a good idea-apparently they do smell fear and it’s contagious-he yapped and snapped at my nose three times!)

After surviving the near catastrophic nose biting experience, it was back to the house to hang out a little bit with pops.  Shortly thereafter, he was left with dog sitting duties (both Jordan and Chaco) while I went to dinner with Lindsay and the rest went to a bar in Tempe.  After enjoying just a few hours of catch up time with Linds, we went and joined the rest at Casey Moore’s-on the tandem bicycle!!  HOW FUN!  We stayed for just a little while before returning home to the exhausted and amused dog sitter–about 12 fights, 3 naps, 2 walks, and 1 pee accident later! 

0640651

Sunday-we were all up and at ’em!  The crew went to church in Phoenix and dad and I went to Desert Springs.  We enjoyed a good conversation with Kevin and Lynds after, swung by the office, and then dad treated all the girls to lunch at Pita Jungle-delish!  We returned home to pack, clean, take pictures, and say bye to dad!  What a good sport he was hosting us all there 🙂  Who knew he’d have a 26 year old daughter and still be hosting sleep overs 🙂  We stopped by Mistie’s to pick up another passenger-Lindsey (yes, the third Lindsey of the weekend) and we were on our way!  No tickets, no stops at Border Patrol, and just a little bit of rain and we made it home by 9pm!  Just enough time to settle down and get ready for the week!  What an awesome weekend!

075079

And, now, the next three weeks are sure to be highly amusing as well!  Thursday I’ll be hosting an early Thanksgiving for some people in class-and Friday morning it’s off to Montebello followed by three more weeks of serving, loving, laughing, and learning!  I’ll keep you posted 🙂

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

One response »

Leave a Reply

