A Little Somethin’

Standard

Because I have often been checking ‘bloglines’ lately to see if anyone had updated their post and have come up disappointed, I decided maybe it’s about that time to blog myself – for the benefit those of you also finding yourselves seeking for new blogs. Not that this is anything noteworthy, because I literally have nothing substantial on my mind to particularly blog about…so we’ll see what happens!

I spent ten hours yesterday cleaning, scrubbing, and organizing this home we so lovingly call ‘Casa Schneple’ – and although it doesn’t happen often, I do love a clean house! I spent the latter part of the evening in a beach chair in front of my burning fire place reading. Absolutely lovely! At about 10pm, I heard a car park and the honking sound of someone locking it..and I just knew it had to be some of the missing roommates!! (I feel like I could make a poem here that followed the lines of that Christmas poem about Santa being downstairs…you all know what I’m talking about even though I’m drawing a blank). Jojo and Marlena came in first and greeted me with huge hugs! We started chatting about their days up at Mt. High (not enough time as of this point for them to start embellishing stories…) and a few minutes later hobbled J-Jax (after sending a text asking for us to come carry her in from the car…a text we didn’t read until after she’d made her way in). It was quite a sight to be seen…and I was soooo happy part of the Schneple Schister crew was back before I begin all my travels!

I have been reading a book entitled Discipline by Elisabeth Elliott and it’s been – not necessarily eye-opening – but definitely a nice reminder of this life of Discipline we are called to lead. Something I have failed at drastically in the past, and am quite certain will fail at more in the future (why I’m also so grateful for a little thing called grace that will help me through!)…but just a neat perspective and encouraging words on this journey we’re on – not of perfection, but of progress. So, although, I’m not one for resolutions at this point in my life (aka I’m sick of not following through on things on my own accord), I do desire to be more disciplined in all aspects of life (food, health, possessions, time, money, etc). And, thankfully, by His power and strength, I know I can do just that 🙂 Or rather, He can do just that through me!

What are you praying He does in and through you this year?

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

2 responses »

  1. nothing like a day of cleaning to put a smile on your face.

    roommates are good things.

    liz eliott writes the most wonderful books… i’m always so encouraged. wouldn’t say i’m always a brennan manning fan, but i recently read ‘ruthless trust’ and it was a very timely read for me.

    suprised by grace already in 09! and hoping that humility is more true in me than it was last year.

  2. Every day I pray for God’s will in my life and the power to carry that out. I do not presume to know better or more than God so that is my prayer. For me and for others just God’s will. To ask for or to pray for anything else says to me I do not trust God’s choices, decisions or will. I do know today that God’s plan is always so very much better than mine. I only have to submit to God’s will and do it today! Very freeing and also exciting. when faced with challenges I ask – what am I supposed to learn from this God. It makes the challenges fun, exciting and adventurous

Leave a Reply

