To Grandma’s Home I Went!

Standard

Earlier I wrote about my visit to my Grandparents’ home in the lovely El Paso, Texas and promised a taste of what it’s like back in good ol’ Detroit, MI!

I had the opportunity to go back and visit all of my mom’s family a few weeks ago. Yes, right in the middle of what seemed like a winter blizzard. Maybe it wasn’t the extreme, but having lived in California and Arizona the vast majority of my life, it was much more than experienced in QUITE awhile (possibly back to my days in Indiana).

Over the past few years, I’ve made it somewhat of a tradition to get back to the Detroit area during the Christmas season; I typically avoid the snow by going sooner, but grandma rewarded me with an award based on me choosing the best time to visit 🙂 Although it became a joke that I would choose to go at that time, I quite enjoyed it all!

Some of my favorite memories from Grandma’s home in times past:

  • Oreos in her duck cookie holder (now filled with receipts and such, probably better for the waistline)
  • Her soft toilet seat cover that squished down when you sat on it (now hard, but proably more sanitary)
  • The black and white bedroom – yes, the carpet was shag.  And a mix of black and white.  (After her fire last year, this has recently been changed…possibly just because shag carpet is now hard to come by.  Hmm?)
  • Visiting Aunt Edna in the nursing home and listening to her crazy fun stories (she has since passed on at 100 years old, and currently my Aunt Ruby is residing in a nursing home)
  • Aunt Ruby’s Cottage (I always enjoyed visiting here for some family functions.  As you see from the previous statement, Aunt Ruby no longer resides at this home, but her son does)
  • Walking around grandma’s ‘hood and the track across the street (not something I was able to do this time with all of the snow getting in the way)
  • Playing in the basement (there was always something to discover down in those closets and this is where my Papa taught me how to play poker at one point in my life)
  • Going to visit my Papa and Uncle Henry at the shop (my Papa has since passed away, but the shop is still at ’em with lots of cars always in and out…I’m amazed by the work done there at the Body Shop…although, when I was younger I thought ‘a body shop’ was something inappropriate)
  • Looking at my grandma’s teacups (Such a cute collection we all stake our claim on, but I’m sure they’ve moved around quite a few times…I’m in no hurry to get my tea cups)
  • Sleeping with my grandma (usually my sister and I would both crawl up to bed with grandma….a great reminder of how much growing I’ve done the last 27 years.  However, this time we did snooze together but Becca didn’t make the trip…two fit better than three these days)
  • Going to my Aunt and Uncle’s ‘farm’ (Always full of chickens, dogs, cats, horses, cows, goats, birds, etc.  A super FUN place to visit growing up watching my cousins on their motorized things – bikes, snow mobiles, 4 wheelers, etc.  And, yes there were quite a few incidents involving myself and this motorized things such as running into their pool on a motorcycle thing and having my leg run over by the 4 wheeler.  Me + motorized vehicles = not a good choice)

Anyways, yes, some things have changed.  But, what remains the same is all of my mom’s family still resides in the Detroit area and I absolutely love getting to go and visit!  This time entailed a lot of talk time with grandma….getting to sit on her couch and listen to a multitude of stories about our family’s past.  Quite entertaining to say the least! 

How were your holiday travels?

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

