My Travels Thus Far

Standard

1me-and-christineThe trip began the early morning of Saturday, January 3rd.  I grabbed some coffee with Christine, my friend who I have been tutoring and is going back to Korea.  I then swung by the Boyd’s and got some time with Jess and her kiddos.

3I headed straight up to Los Angeles where I met Rosalyn, a girl I mentored last year, and went with her family to dinner. 

5After the birthday festivities, I headed to Orange County to spend the night at Bekah’s and a group of us went to breakfast and church inte morning.  I spent the rest of the weekend at Acosta’s cleaning his apartment and hanging out with friends.

7Tuesday morning I was Detroit-bound.  En route, I met Hanna (pictured here) and had a fabulous conversation!  I look forward to meeting up once I get back in town.

11The snow was waiting for me in Detroit!  I spent five days here running around with my family.  Here is a picture of me and my grandma.  Yes, I am really that tall.

151This is me with my mom’s best friend from middle school, Brenda, and her husband, Jim.  Essentially another aunt and uncle 🙂

161A lovely photo of my cousin, Liz, and I.  She’s amazing!

201The snow-covered front yard at my aunt and uncle’s home.  Beautiful to visit…glad I don’t live there!

211I spent my last night in the Detroit area with Trisha, a friend I met in Spain four summers ago.

231On Sunday, off to the DFW area it was!  Monica met me at the airport and I spent the evening with the Snell crew….this is the newest additon, Alyssa.

22The family 🙂

29Monday, I visited with my former college coach and spent the evening with my first roommate, Jenn and her fiance, Jonathon (I didn’t take pictures of any of them…dang it!).  Tuesday, it was off to visit Heather, my friend who led me to the Lord 8 years ago and then off t Ginny and Kingsley’s to enjoy some food, conversation, and good times 🙂

30Wednesday was my ‘Denton Day’.  I spent the day driving through town and reminiscing.  I went by the Super Pit (pictured here) aka my second home for 4 years.  I met up with Jean and Rachel from The Women’s Program for lunch.  Afterwards, it was off to Deanna’s to spend time catching up with her, her kids, and her hubby.  Afterwards, it was off to the UNT basketball game where I saw old friends, fans, and coaches!

412Thursday, I drove up to Denison to visit Kisha’s grave.  I then met up with Angel and her two beautiful girls!  Afterwards, it was off to Dallas to go to the Cheesecake Factory with Charlene, Matt,and Natalie.

421Friday I got to spend all day with my little sister, Alisha.  We went and saw Twilight, walked around the mall, played at Dave & Buster’s, and perused Barnes and Noble.

431Natalie then picked me up from Frisco and it was off to Fort Worth!  We caught the end of Shannan’s bball game and met up with Heather and Jen for drinks.

441Saturday, Natalie and I headed down to Austin – we stopped to visit Jenn Hernandez and her two beautiful girls (their dad, Andre, was just deployed to Iraq – be praying for them).

45Saturday evening, we stayed at Jenny and Jason’s.  She was my Bible Study Leader my sophomore year of college (poor girl) and they gave us the grand tour of the town!

461After church on Sunday,Natalie and I met up with Sarah at HEB for some gelato.  Natalie headed home and Sarah and I enjoyed hours of talk time, wii time, sleep time, and just an all around good time!

48I flew to Los Angeles on Mondy morning.  Acosta and I went to El Segundo for breakfast and catch up time.  Much appreciated!

49Then it was off to Orange County!  I spent Monday afternoon with Heather and Stacey and then went to Roy’s with my mom and Jim (I couldn’t get a good picture of them) to celebrate my mom’s 5*th birthday!  We enjoyed great food and some R&R. 

Tuesday, I was off to give Stacey a massage, ran some errands, met my mom to work out at LA Fitness,gave her a massage, and had a relaxing evening at her home.

This morning, it was off to massage Jessina, wake up Stephanie to catch up, work out, surprise Bekah at work and eat lunch, then a quick drive back to San Diego!  WHEW!!  Tomorrow, it’s off to Costa Rica via Phoenix and then a few more stops before getting back to San Diego.  I’m grateful for this time but kind miss this place!

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

3 responses »

  1. Wow. Whenever I feel overwhelmed, like I’ve packed too much on the proverbial plate all I have to do is read your blog. Then I feel like I don’t do enough.
    You’re great Karolyn — someday I’ll see you again, someday!

Leave a Reply

