Reading Ramblings

Standard

Well, since December 18th, I’ve no longer had school daily…in fact, we don’t go back until February 24th!  So, this has left me with ample travel time (at the end of my break, I’ll have seen just about everyone I love…save my Colorado Crew) that has been full of visiting, relaxing, sleeping, working out, studying, spending time with the Lord, and reading.  Even though school is only from 8am-12pm daily, somehow my afternoons would slip away from me (between Casa Schneple happenings, basketball, tetris, homework, tutoring, reffing, napping on the roof, etc.), I decided I really wanted to take this break to not only spend time with the people I love, but to really solidify all that I had learned in my first semester.  Although I haven’t taken the time I wanted to reread and retype my notes, I’ve been able to get in plenty of reading to deepen my understanding of my sinfulness, my gratitude for salvation, my amazement of the work on the Cross, the beauty of living a Christ-centered life, and the freedom that comes along with it.  WHEW!  And, what a sweet few months it has been.  These are the books that I have had the chance to go through since graduation:

disciplineI really enjoyed this relatively easy read – just a gentle reminder to shift my focus with how I view things in my life and an encouragement to be disciplined with ALL the Lord has blessed me with.

living-the-cross-centered-lifeThis was a good one!  A humbling reminder of what a life looks like that’s focused on the work of the Cross…something that’s so overwhelming, inspiring, and integral to our life as Christians.

one-month-to-live My sister got me this one for Christmas – a 30 day devotional to help reprioritize relationships in your life rather than getting caught up in the to-do’s!

touching-godliness-through-submission K.P. came and spoke to our class this semester and I enjoyed what he had to say – this book was really eye-opening for me as I realized a lot about myself and submission that I hadn’t before.

theirs-is-the-kingdom I saw this recommended on someone’s blog awhile ago and it struck home to me.  After reading it, I’m more ready than ever to go move back into the inner-city and live out the gospel and learn more about the gospel!

why-were-not-emergent Another one I saw on someone’s blog…I didn’t know too much about the emergent movement before, but had read some articles that were of concern to me and my belief in the Bible…this was an informative look at the movement.  Might have been kind of harsh and a lot of name-dropping in parts.  But a good message to remain true to the Truth.

pilgrims-progressI hadn’t ever read this classic, and found it on my friend’s shelf to borrow…this is basically a story of my life as a Christian (yes, I know, I think that’s the point of this allegory)…but so much of it rang true for my walk and just gave me the encouragement to walk the straight and narrow consistently!

NEXT ON THE LIST:

making-room-for-lifeOne I’ve started before through the recommendation of a friend…but kinda ran out of time 😉  Amidst my traveling, another friend brought it up and I thought – hmm. what better time to read it than now while I have unlimited time and am preparing to go back to living a more structured life?!

So, there you have it, folks.  A brief little annotated bib on each book I’ve had the pleasure of reading over the break.  And, don’t worry – I realize a lot of this can be heavy, so I’ve off-set it by reading countless blogs, enjoying People and Good Housekeeping (my favorite) magazines, and eating up Nicholas Sparks’ newest one (my favorite ever; I know – I am a hopeless hopeful romantic!)

Any good reads for you lately?!?!

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

4 responses »

  1. never heard of an annotated bib.

    mudhouse sabbath– lauren winner (also wrote girl meets god, very good)
    the new cold war
    carra: my autobiography

    random reading list lately. also coming up is john piper’s book about fasting… can’t remember the name of it right now. hunger for god, or something.

  2. Short for annotated bibliography. Gulity as an English major. Really should have had more of an official citation before the ‘annotation’ I added 🙂 Looking forward to your list….What’s Carra about?

  3. okay so at first I was like “oh man, she has time to write a blog, how impressive”… then I got here and was like O…. K . its not just a blog its a Blog PLUS! Then!! I saw how many pickn books you READ. W0W. NOW, Now Im really impresssssed.

    Love you Karolyn. Hope all is well. Hey did you go back to HSE?? Im not gonna make it. 😦

Leave a Reply

