Standard

As I listen to one of my roommate’s singing “‘Cuz I am your lady…and you are my pug” (her own rendition of “I’m your lady” by Celine Dion, if you didn’t catch it), I decided what better time to catch up in the land o’ blogs?!

WHEW! It has been a fun few weeks! Between the Nehemiah trip, birthday festivities, beginning a new job, and attending school…it has been a blast! March and April are also the month of Spring Breaks which in the land of teachers makes San Diego a perfect vacation spot 🙂 Even though Natalie and Didi (UNT teammates of mine) work in corporate America, they still wanted to join the fun and pretend otherwise so took a day off work and made a weekend trip to San Diego from Dallas….and what a fabulous time it was! I ran them around, as to be expected, and I’m quite certain their airplane seatmates are enjoying the musical sounds of their respective snoring right now 🙂

Thursday, they arrived around 7:30pm. Due to a near starvation situation, we immediately headed to dinner. My friend Cari was working at Sammy’s Woodfire Pizza that night, so we visited her to receive wonderful service, delicious food, and of course a Messy Sundae to boot 🙂 Afterwards, it was back to the house to collect Irene and additional roommates and to ‘Sports Bar’ it was. A trip to Mira Mesa just isn’t complete without frequenting this gem. So, we played darts and hung out with the locals and called it an early night.
a

Friday, it was off to school we went! We headed to Horizon for a brief devo and then it was off to Park Chapel to do random things around the church and had a blessed time getting to talk to Eric and others around the church. After school, I got to go to work so Jojo took Natalie and Didi out to the beaches to get a little taste of SD. Thankfully, my boss let me off a few hours early and I got to meet up with them to search the thrift stores for 90’s outfits for Mistie’s Birthday party later that evening (think Friends, Blossom, 90210, etc.). We headed back to finish preparing for an HSE party at our house that evening. My class hosted a party for the incoming HSE class and we had about 65 people show up to our home Friday evening! It was a wonderful turn out and we enjoyed conversation, food, and worship 🙂 Afterwards, we briefly headed to Amy’s to attend the 90’s party we had already purchased appropriate attire for 🙂 The party was winding down, but it was nice to sit and just be able to talk and catch up. Then, off to bed it was!
b
c
d

Saturday morning I attended a job fair for a potential teaching job next year (there were literally like 800 people applying for various positions!) while Natalie and Didi got to sleep. Upon return, we loaded up the Tahoe to head to Mission Beach for some sun! We all got in some rest and had fun throwing the football around…I even got in the cold water! Love it! We rounded up the troops and went to LA Fitness to play a little 3-on-3 and, I’m proud to say, UNT alum dominated! Well, maybe not dominated, but came out victorious nonetheless! Saturday night it was off to dinner with Heather, Stacey, her teammate Des, and a few of us. Then it was out on the town for a couple of hours until we were tuckered out!
e

Sunday morning, we had full intentions of heading to church; however, that snooze button got the best of us! So, we woke up and got to enjoy one of my most favorite things to do on the weekend: family breakfast. I cooked a great batch of monkey bread, some eggs, and prepared a fruit salad for eight of us 🙂 I love getting to laugh, talk, listen, and enjoy food together! While a few of us cleaned up, Natalie and Didi packed up and it was off to the airport 😦 A short but sweet visit and I’m certain they can’t go home saying they didn’t get to enjoy San Diego!

As for me, I’m looking forward to a relaxing afternoon full of organizing, cleaning, laundering, washing the car, running, and an evening at church followed by some homework for the week! I’m excited because tomorrow Adrian comes in town for a visit before I head up to San Fran for Easter 🙂

You just let me know if you want to come visit and I’ll let you know Casa Schneple’s availability 🙂 You can come spend some time with this lovely face along with many others:
f

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

