Bouquet Beast

Standard

I seriously LOVE, LOVE, LOVE weddings. (Thank goodness, I’ve been to almost 30!) One of my most favorite parts of the reception is the bouquet (I think third behind the first dance and the father/daughter dance)- and the valiant attempts to catch it 🙂 So far, I’ve been successful six times. Yes, folks. Six times. Now a frequent comment is my height advantage. However, I chalk it up to skill and strategy. There are two bouquets I didn’t catch that I’m still a litle upset about – mainly because it came down to skill, and I didn’t utitilize my skills and abilities appropriately to ensure victory (sorry Lyndsey and Lindsay). From now on though, I can guarantee you I will use my God-given talents and some strategy to try to ensure more bouquet catching victories (although, let’s be honest, Lord knows I don’t wanna be single forever and I’m hoping I’m getting to the end of my bouquet-catching career). Thanks to a friend’s suggestion, I decided to document the victories thus far:

Heather and Kilika (win #1)
heather bouquet
This picture was found in an old scrapbook; apparently nobody else was too interested in catching the bouquet so there wasn’t much of a challenge.

Becky and Drew (win #2)
Becky and Drew
Now this clearly isn’t the bouquet photo…I actually can’t find one at the moment, but I thought I’d show you the handsome couple nonetheless (they now have a little one on the way!!). This was a funny bouquet catch though because the DJ kept calling me to the dance floor, but I was down by the beach and didn’t hear it. I came up just in time to literally have the bouquet come right to me (height did have an advantage in this one!)

Ginny and Kingsley (Win #3)
Ginny bouquet
Hilarious time!! This brought out some serious competitiveness with my former teammate being another one of the contenders. This led to full on box outs, elbow swings, and ultimately a fight to the ground! The photographer told me afterwards she had never witnessed such a sight!

Liz and Matt (Win #4)
Liz bouquet
Now this one needs the video to fully capture what went on here…the DJ decided to count to three for the throw, but my cousin threw it on ‘two’ which confused all of us. So, you see us standing there, her throwing it, us still standing there waiting for the count of three….we finally realize it’s been thrown and I leap – similar to a gazelle or deer climbing up rocks – around the girls standing in my way and recover the bouquet from behind the chair on the ground for a sweet victory!

Monica and Terry (win #5)
Monica bouquet
I feel like this was a pretty easy victory for me, as there weren’t that many single ladies here. I do always love catching the bouquets because it adds another special bond between me and the bride to talk about in times to come (which is why I’m still bitter about Lindsay and Lyndsey’s weddings 🙂 )

Jenn and Jonathon (win #6)
Jenn bouquet
My most recent victory! This one made me feel slightly old as I realized most of my fellow contenders were in braces. Now, granted, it was in Texas where people tend to get married a little younger so most people our age are on their third or fourth child by now!! Anyways, this was sweet because Jennifer was my roommate freshman year of college!

So, there you have it folks. A full collection of my bouquet catchings!! There are two weddings in the next couple months that I hope allow me to add to my collection 🙂 I’ll keep you posted (literally)…

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

2 responses »

  1. The big question is will you be able to win bouquet No. 7 (or perhaps it will be No, 8 at that point?) when height is not at your advantage on the fateful night of July 18? I can’t wait to see …

Leave a Reply

