A Whirlwind (surprise, surprise!)

Standard

So the fun started a few weeks ago!! My dad came out here and visited at the end of October. We had a great time walking the dogs (two-hour walks each day he was here with only a few minor altercations), visiting Seaport Village and Balboa park, frequenting Little Italy restaurants, playing Bananograms, and trying to get a budget set up for me. He also came and witnessed some of the craziness Monday morning at work before driving back to AZ. LOVED having him here!!
me and dad

That week it was “Jenny from work”‘s birthday – Jamie’s co-worker who we’ve all befriended and love! We headed down to Old Town for some cheap tacos from Fred’s – yum! And then, off to Balboa’s Haunted Trail or whatever. Perfect night to go with no waiting. And it was pretty scary! (Secretly, I enjoy being scared but only when there are people there who are more scared than me that are counting on me to not be scared, then somehow I’m not as scared. Codependent tendencies? Probably. But, I’m pretty surprised with how ‘scaredy cat’ I was as a child that I don’t get more scared.)
us

That following weekend was Halloween weekend – which, as you know from the previous post, included lots of adventures for Raggedy Anne. I also hopped on the train and headed up to the OC on Saturday afternoon to enjoy some mother-daughter time with mom (obviously.) We went on a walk, paddle boating, got a pedicure, and headed to Target. Afterwards, I headed out to help celebrate Irene’s birthday with some of the crew! So fun to see everyone and try to catch up and head back to the Anderson’s for some more laughs and games (and some curriculum ideas from Mrs. Anderson!) SO MUCH FUN!!
me and mom

hall

11647_524054454169_65800055_31127944_4841944_n

Sunday morning, I got up early to meet KD and Cookie for breakfast at the newlywed’s pad. It included a Diddy Reese cookie and some scrambled eggs. Delish!! We also got some time to talk before I ran out and met my mom and Jim for a beach meeting followed by some shopping. Unfortunately, I felt really sick on Sunday and spent most of the day sleeping but was able to muster up the strength to head to Lazy Dog Cafe for a FABULOUS pizza. Seriously. Best pizza ever. Bar none. Then, it was back on the train to get some work done and head back to San Diego to see Mistie and Bri.
girls

Monday, it was back to work! And by Wednesday, Andrea (a friend from college days) arrived for some fun in the sun!! She has some time off of work (while looking for new work) and decided to head out west! We had a great time hanging out, going to the beach (we collectively found 85 – yes, read it again. 85 – sand dollars!! it was a gold mine at Coronado!), eating yummy food, lounging around, reading, riding our bikes around town, going to the farmer’s market, watching movies and TV, talking, and even meeting up with Texas’ own Amber Angell! It was like Denton reunited 🙂
me and andrea

bike

shells

denton

Monday night Andrea, Jamie, and I headed up to Los Angeles for an Imogen Heap concert (which, by the way, we have been waiting for over the last two years!! And she was WELL worth the wait – and the 250 mile round trip. And the 4 hours of sleep!) We picked up Acosta and met Heather, Erin, Stacey, Lauren, and her beau at the venue. Absolutely fabulous.
concert

All this in the midst of absolute craziness and chaos at work – but so it goes. Keep on keepin’ on! And the fun is just going to continue!! My sister heads this way this weekend for an early Turkey Day celebration with my mom. I’m sure I’ll have a bunch to post about this trip! Next week, Lauren Stamatis – friend from high school basketball days – is heading to town because her team plays out this way. Then, it’s off to San Antonio for frolicking with friends before heading home to Arizona for Thanksgiving festivities with dad, G&G, Aunt Lin and Colby. Then it’s December. Where has 2009 gone?!?!

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

One response »

  1. You’re so great Karolyn! I love reading your blogs — highlight of my morning — granted I was paying bills and taking care of insurance paperwork, but still: highlight of my morning :)! I really need to get down to Little Italy and say hi!

Leave a Reply

