Thanksgiving 2009

Standard

Now that December has stormed its way in here and it’s about time to update with Christmas Roommate photos and then Christmas vacation pictures, I figure I better update and post on actual Thanksgiving festivities. This year, we got an entire week off of work and believe it when I tell you I took full advantage!!

I caught a flight to San Antonio on Friday afternoon at 4:30 pm…I had a two hour lay-over in Vegas where I made Candace and Kristy meet me for a quick rendezvous dinner and then I was back on my way to Texas!! Jojo picked me up and we headed straight out to Karoake night at one of their favorite little hole-in-the-wall bars. Fun times!! I spent Friday through Wednesday spending time with Jojo, Natalie and company! It was great seeing Lacey, meeting Jojo’s roommates and neighbors, seeing Natalie’s new home, her family, and her friends and life in great ol’ SA. We talked, laughed, ate, drank, danced, and watched lots of TV and movies. It was a fabulous week of inactivity and gluttony at its finest. Surrounded by great friends 🙂

Wednesday I was able to catch and earlier flight to Phoenix without a lay-over and was greeted by my dad, grams, and gramps! We headed straight to the store for some ‘shopping’ (of course, by shopping, I mean my grandma and I just picked out goodies to take!) and then it was off to dinner with Aunt Lin and Colby. We practically shut down the joint while enjoying delicious food and wonderful company! Thursday morning, dad and I set up the Wii (his early Christmas present set up for my benefit!) and then it was off to Boston Market to pick up our Turkey Day feast! What a great stress-free way to do Thanksgiving! Dishes were completed within ten minutes time! Colby and I enjoyed our traditional walk and we all had a great time. Friday grandma and I were back at the stores finding more fun things!! Then it was off to the office to help dad sort Demdaco…I’m sure laws were broken as far as the mistreatment and over-working of elderly people 🙂 Friday night, dad set up a special ‘Thanksgiving Reunion’ dinner for us at the Chart House and it was once again a FABULOUS time! Saturday morning, grandma and grandpa hit the road 1 minute after scheduled departure and it was off to see Lyndsey…I had a great time helping her prepare for Laura’s baby shower and getting to see old friends and, of course, my little bestie, Gracie. Afterwards, I went shopping with full intentions of finding good stuff for mom and Bec but ended up with way more for myself. Ooops! I then drove out to Lindsay and Ryan’s new humble abode in Phoenix (they spent the day after Thanksgiving moving in)! It is SO cute!! And I just LOVE Lindsay and Ryan…had a good time snuggled up on the couch catching up. Saturday night, dad and I met the lovely Lyndsey and Kevin for dinner at Islands before heading to ‘New Moon’ – yes, dad and I were two of the ones keeping it at #1 for so long 🙂 Sunday, it was off to church, lunch, some more shopping, some football, gave my dad a massage I’ve owed him for a year, ate some left-overs and then headed to catch my plane at 8:30pm! So, yes, I made full use of that break and am fully looking forward to our next break in two weeks! CRAZY how time flies….(when you’re having fun, of course) (Sidenote: my camera battery died during my trip home…so I’m awaiting photos from my dad to post here)

Also, the week before break was full of fun as well…went to go see Lauren Stamatis’ team play San Diego Christian…texted my friend Courtney to let her know I was on her campus and was surprised five minutes later when the announcer announced Courtney Barlow into the game!! So, I got to see Lauren’s team play (the college’s name is not coming to me right now…but it’s a school in Illinois who plays an awesome run and gun style play that is so fun to watch!) AND Courtney! (She received my text after the game, of course). Kristen also drove down from Bakersfield to surprise Lauren!

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

2 responses »

  1. sweet! what a fun week of reunions. i’m a bit jealous, though i had a great thanksgiving of my own.

    p.s. olivet nazarene! and it’s near chicago… reunion weekend?!?!?!

Leave a Reply

