Winter Whereabouts

Standard

Now that February seems to be right around the corner, and work is well underway, I decided what better time than to update everyone (mainly myself before I forget) how I got to spend the three week Winter Break (don’t be too jealous of the break; work more than evens out for it!):

I started off the journey and headed to Arizona on Saturday, December 18th and had previously decided to stop half way home and have a little retreat time in the wonderful city of Yuma for reflection, solitude, prayer, rest, and reading. It was absolutely FABULOUS – and actually the first time I had stayed at a hotel by myself! So fun! Might have to make that more of a tradition…anybody have some hotel points to spare?! 😉

Sunday, it was on up to Scottsdale where I met dad at work and got right to work! I actually stayed in town for almost two weeks…didn’t head back west until New Year’s Eve Day! So, I made the most of that time by:

  • helping out dad at the office and having lots of fun hanging out with him
  • spending time with mom and Jim at their timeshare – eating, laughing, enjoying Christmas, etc.
  • getting to see my sister quite a bit and got to catch up, read, and enjoy each other’s company
  • catching up with old friends – Lindsay & Ryan, Lyndsey, Kevin & Grace, Desi, family & crew, Ally, Courtney, Lauren, Kristen, etc.
  • continuing with my half marathon training (which is this Sunday back in Phoenix!)
  • resting, relaxing, reading, etc.

It was a great time back home in Arizona – lately it all just seems to go too fast!  I packed up and headed out early New Year’s Eve Day in order to get back to San Diego to pick up LaDejeiasha from the bus station.  Her family had allowed her to come down to LA for the weekend to enjoy the fabulous city of San Diego!  We spent time at Horizon Park Chapel’s youth group on New Year’s eve and at another friend’s house.  I did stay up til midnight although it was quite a struggle – but after going to bed by 12:30, I didn’t wake up until noon the next day!  You will find that sleep was a huge part of my break 🙂  Anyways, we spent the day lounging around with the roommates on New Year’s Day (a fabulous way to bring in the New Year) and just organizing, cleaning, etc.  (I’m sure she was so glad to come down to San Diego for all of that excitement!)  Over the weekend, we ran errands galore, hit up the Farmer’s Market, went running, enjoyed Sea Port Village, went to church, hung out, and spent time making a WONDERFUL scrapbook together!  It turned out so well!

Monday, we headed back up north and spent the evening with my mom and Jim in Orange County.  Tuesday, it was off to pedicures and then to LA where I dropped her off and enjoyed QUICK visits with Acosta, Hess, Rosalyn & Family, and Donnie’s Family.  Then it was back to the OC for more time with mom and rest before making the long trek back down to San Diego 🙂  I enjoyed my last few days of rest and filled it full of reading, cleaning, and hanging out with the roommates.

On Friday, I jumped on a plane up to San Fran where I got to hang out with my sisssy (so fabulous!) and then on Saturday we rented a car to head to Folsom for the day for Heather’s Baby Shower!  Cousins Drew and Beck welcomed their new baby boy, Bryce Knut Erickson on Christmas Eve!!  Although the new family couldn’t make the trek, it was nice to see some of the rest of the fam and enjoy time laughing, eating, decorating, and celebrating!  We headed back to the city late Saturday night and I was up bright and early on Sunday to meet my friend Jen and her girlfriend Cindy for breakfast – enjoyed three hours of conversation, laughter, good food, and coffee.  Cannot complain!  Too soon, it was time to jump on the BART and head to the airport for my flight back to reality. 

I enjoyed a lovely break and now am getting back into the groove here at work.  Running around like a chicken with my head cut off most of the time, but so it goes…back to Phoenix this weekend for the Half Marathon I haven’t fully trained for.  We’ll see how that goes~

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

