Manic Monday Musings

Standard

Ever had one of those mornings?!  Well, today I experienced just that!  It all started out very chaotic for a Monday morning…maybe just magnified in comparison to my extremely restful weekend (following a decision made on Friday not to drive in my car anywhere and to spend some much needed time praying, reading, and relaxing…so sweet it was!).

5:17am I wake up abruptly to the sound of our door opening and closing…seemingly incessantly.  Somehow, this gets incorporated into my dreams where I end up on a rampage – mad at my roommates for the dramatic opening and closing of doors and in the midst of my going off, I realize that someone has eaten my banana (which, in real life, I wrote on with a sharpie last night letting people know it was mine).  Through this dream I realize I am not quite as calm and collected as I have been believing lately.

6:21 Startled, I wake up again.  I am moving.  And feeling a little seasick.  The building is making some noises.  I realize that there is an earthquake and have the following succession of thoughts: “I wonder if I should go into my closet…no, that’s too far away”  “I remember mom telling me to hide NEXT to a big piece of furniture; I wonder if I’d get hurt if I just rolled out of bed onto the floor for safe keeping” “I think I’ll just stay here…if anything happens, I’ve talked to everyone lately and they know I love them.”  Seven seconds later, the motion stops and I quickly text all my roommates with, “Earthquake?’ wondering if anybody else just experienced what I did.  Nope.  They thought I was crazy, but my craziness was quickly dismissed after finding the details out online…not a very big one off the coast of San Ysidro or something.  Kind of concerning the building was creaking so much with a 4.4 38 miles away…

7:11 Somehow I have slept through 26 minutes of alarms, all of which I’m pretty sure were incorporated into my dreams.  I begrudgingly get up and walk the dogs.  Mind you, I have never done this in the morning before.  So, we walk.  And wait.  And they relieve themselves.  And I pick it up.  And somehow by the time I get back upstairs 8 minutes have passed.  I have not even gotten dressed yet and I’m supposed to be at work in t minus 11 minutes!

7:19 I frantically look through my closet for something to wear.  I seriously never have problems with this.  Ever.  At least not when going to work.  But, somehow, I end up in a sweat by the time I take off and put on four different sets of clothes before reluctantly keeping on the last outfit (not reluctant to keep on an outfit in general, I know that’s a necessity.  But, I’m not sold on my outfit I’m wearing today.  Something seems off.  At least I could spice it up with the incredible earrings my sister got me for Christmas!)

7:38 I finally make my way out the door and decide that since I’m parked in the alley and conveniently have to pass our neighboring 7-11, I might as well treat myself to some coffee.  Afterall, it has been a tough morning.  And I’m already late.  So, I get a little french vanilla blend and make my way across the traintracks to RegEnDev who has been happily sedentary all weekend.  Upon reaching the tracks, I get stopped by not one, not two…but three trains!  And they weren’t all passing at the same time.  One would pass and as it seemed that it would be about time for the little caution guard things to go up, another would toot its horn in approach.  There goes another 6 minutes.

7:54 I finally arrive to work.  24 minutes late.  Not bad considering the morning I’ve had!  However, I did get to enjoy the banana I labeled last night and I also got ahold of Lindsay on the way to work for a brief catch-up session (she also had a crazy Monday morning)…so if this is any inkling as to what I should expect this week…or this month for that matter….BRING IT ON!

“Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices;
       my body also will rest secure…”  Psalm 16:9

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

