Husband Hunt Complete…We’re ENGAGED!!!

Standard

As most of you are well aware, WE ARE ENGAGED!!! So for those of you ‘big picture’ people, you can be done reading now. For those of you who love the details (like myself!) – Read on, my little readers!!

As most of you are also well aware of, this has been a ‘fast and furious’ (as one friend described it) romance…one that has clearly been led by our sovereign Lord and one in which He remains the center! It has been a beautiful thing to delight in the Lord and watch Him give me the desires of my heart. To live in such a way that I was able to approach His throne boldly and lay my request down at His feet. What an answer he has given me!! The husband hunt is over. And successful. Above and beyond what my heart could have imagined.

My sister had been planning on coming down to San Diego for a friend’s wedding this weekend. She arrived on Friday so we could enjoy some sister time (including lots of catching up, laughter, shopping, and sushi!!). She called my dad and said he should fly over to help celebrate her birthday early on Sunday (my mom and Jim already had plans of coming down to spend Sunday with us). Well, pops jumped on it and made a reservation to fly over on Sunday morning. How fun!! I dropped Becca off at the wedding in La Jolla on Saturday and spent the day writings lists, organizing, and hanging out with roommates.

Saturday night, Josiah and I were enjoying a phone conversation when he mentioned that he found out he had Sunday off. I immediately started shrieking and stating that he just HAD to come over to the mainland in order to meet my dad and sister in person. However, it was 10:00 at night and in order to catch the Catalina Express, he had to have already made reservations to get a boat over to Avalon (island life is no easy thing, my friends). He told me not to get my hopes up, but that he’d attempt to contact the office to figure out details. Well, guess what?! There WAS somebody in the office and they said that it was doable! I just checked with my mom to see if she could pick him up Sunday on their way down and drop him off EARLY Monday morning – to which, of course, she had no problems with! We decided not to tell my dad and sister. After getting it all confirmed, I went straight into the family room and did a little dance in front of my roommates declaring that Josiah was coming in town!!

Sunday, I picked my dad up at the airport and we enjoyed a leisurely breakfast and nap. I was in communication with my mom regarding arrival times. We were planning on meeting at Marina Village (which is where we’re planning on getting married) so that my dad and sister could see the place (and unbeknownst to them, Josiah too!). I got confirmation that they had successfully picked up Josiah and were on the way to La Jolla to pick up my sister and surprise her. After they got Bec, they let me know and dad and I started preparing to leave. This is where all the tricks began. Mom sent a text stating they were stuck in traffic and at a standstill (you can ask them about specifics – but it went something along the lines of Josiah asking Becca if she wanted a brother and then suggesting they go pick out a ring! So, it was not traffic that was the hold up – Josiah had decided on the boat ride over that today might be the day! My family concurred.) So, there my dad and I are at the wedding location just hanging out and getting updates on the Master’s that we had left behind. What seemed like hours later, the rest of the family finally arrived!! Dad was surprised and happy to meet Josiah – and I was THRILLED to see him!! My mom attempted to distract me so that Josiah and my dad could have ‘a talk’ but she is not a very good liar or distracter, and so her attempts in conversation just made me more nervous. Oh well! Valiant effort

We ate at a deli next to Marina Village and enjoyed our time there – I just loved having everyone together! And, of course, there was a wedding going on and we loved the dresses, so we had to talk to the bridesmaids for details. Then, Josiah and I had to stand in front of the arch to make sure that we could even fit there!! We could! We spent the afternoon wandering around and then back at the house watching the end of the Master’s (for my dad’s benefit) and then playing Liverpool. Around 5pm, Becca and I started getting ready to head to dinner.

By this point, a few things had happened that had raised my suspicions. I was looking through Josiah’s camera and did run across a picture of the ring. However, it was still in the case and I didn’t get a close up view – and I didn’t know if he had actually bought it. I was just glad it appeared to be like everything I loved and wanted. Later, while in the car, I put my hand on his lap which happened to be RIGHT where the box was in his pocket. He quickly grabbed my hand to hold it/reposition it away from the aforementioned ring box. Still, I was not thinking proposal. I thought he had probably brought the ring to show my family and would ask at a later point.

We had reservations at a restaurant downtown called OceanAire. Absolutely FANTASTIC!! We were there to celebrate Becca’s birthday a week early and the menus even had a little ‘Happy Birthday’ at the top for her. Things were going along just merrily. Everyone got along great, Josiah is already an extension of this family – we were all laughing and talking and giving each other a hard time (okay, mainly Josiah, poor guy. He is such a trooper but do note that I stood up for him and really he was laughing just as hard with everything!) and conversation was easy. So, the evening progressed. Food was delicious! Company was amazing! And, really, I can’t stress enough how delicious the food was. Or how amazing the company was

So, after the main meals had been served, the waiter came over with additional oysters and placed them in front of my sister. Looking back, I did notice her make eye contact with my dad like ‘uh-oh, this is not mine!’ and Josiah quickly intercepted them and placed them in front of me stating he thought they were for me. At this point I kinda knew. I opened the beautiful shell in the middle, and there my ring sat! I looked over and he was on one knee and ready to recite his little spiel (my dad lectured me on interrupting, but there is always so much to say!). I don’t remember the specifics, but it was somewhere along the lines of having prayed for two years for a woman like me and God answering all of His prayers and meeting his needs and wanting to spend the rest of his life with me…and would I be his wife? To this, I replied ‘I will! I do! I don’t know how to answer this!’ But YES!!!! We hugged and we had our first kiss! Rated G, of course, as all the family was surrounding us  Everyone was quite shocked that I didn’t scream or squeal or cry. But, I did start shaking I was so excited and I couldn’t even eat anymore, I was so thrilled! I just kept replaying the whole day and was just in shock from how incredible the past few months have been! We enjoyed the rest of the dinner and I kept staring at my ring and wanting to announce to everyone passing, ‘We are engaged!’

After arriving back home, we got some downtime and Josiah and I went on our first little outing as an engaged couple. Right up to the 5th floor where there are some lounge chairs, open air and a view of the city. It was wonderful reliving the evening, praying, talking, laughing, and of course kissing! We returned later and I announced the news to the security guard basically soliciting a ‘congratulations!’ and then did several engagement dances – all of which I’m told are better off not being performed in public! I don’t know, I think they’re pretty great and an accurate representation about how I feel about all of this – my fiancé, Josiah, my Savior, Jesus Christ, my family and their love and support – EVERYTHING. I am amazed. Inspired. Speechless (okay, that was a stretch there…). And, most importantly, we are ENGAGED!!!

We will keep you posted on all of the details…thank you for your prayers, support, and encouragement!

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

3 responses »

  1. Omigosh!!! WOW!!! WOW!!
    I’m so excited for you Karolyn! He sounds like an amazing man and I can’t wait to meet him. Guess all those bouquet-toss victories panned out! 🙂
    If you need any wedding planning advice don’t hesitate to call.

  2. Yea I am so excited for you! I just just feel the emotion tnrough your writing! I remember one of the first days of HSE and you were so worried about the Husband thing, God has brought you so far and made you strong!

  3. Congrats from Nansea and me! Don’t know if your Mom told you this story, but you need to know it. We met her & Jim in January at Ft Lauderdale when the got back from their jazz cruise. She said how you were living with a bunch of females and weren’t doing anything much to find a man and might never get it done. Well, Nansea said we just need to pray right now about this, Kim, and we did, right there at lunch on the bay in the marina in Ft Lauderdale. And now look at the results. Now you know the rest of the story.

Leave a Reply

