Happy One Month Anniversary

Standard

So we’re at the one month mark today (we already celebrated four weeks on Monday…I guess now we just go to celebrating months…then years….etc.). Here’s a few things I’ve learned so far:

1. I’d much rather stay in bed snuggling with my husband than wake up early (or on time, for that matter) to go to work – the snooze button has never been quite so appealing (pretty sure he’s not so fond of it…but oh well!)

2. It’s so fun to come home each day to the same person…or to have the same person come home to you each day. And by fun I mean challenging, exciting, humbling, rewarding, etc.

3. It never gets old to look through wedding pictures or too overwhelming to have them in almost every frame in your home. Really.

4. Getting your name officially changed is quite the process. So far my job, my email address and my bank are updated – only my Social Security, Driver’s license, every credit card, magazine, etc. left to go. Perhaps I’ll be done by next August.

5. Being a teacher works as an advantage when getting used to your new name – in this profession, you hear your last name way more often than most other jobs

6. My husband and I have a different opinion of clean. Apparently there are certain times of the month when I can be a real stickler (he might think of some other words to describe me) about how clean our home is.

7. Thankfully I received this advice from married women before I got married – but it’s truth has rang true time and time again this past month. I am responsible for my relationship with Christ – not my husband, not his leadership, not his devotionals, etc. Yes, he can guide me and lead me and love me – but it ultimately comes down to me pursuing Jesus to make sure I am continually transformed. And transformation I need!

8. Visiting friends and family is fun as a couple. It’s a very big change for me to take someone else into account for all of my traveling plans and for all of my friends. We’ve been able to enjoy dinner guests, bananagrams, scrabble, a wedding, road trips, maintaining friendships with the roommates (sometimes I think he misses them and the dogs more than me), building friendships with old friends and family and visiting my sister in the city.

9. It is much easier to sleep with the background noise of an oscillating fan and an occasional street noise than a blaring freight train. And praise the Lord for a husband who doesn’t snore!

10. Each day is an adventure. We’ve actually had a pretty challenging first month with some stuff going on (outside of our marriage) and it builds a feeling of safety and comfort to be able to charter the unknown waters together. It can also build a little bit of stress…but we’ve both been very intentional about continuing to choose to trust that the Lord is sovereign. After all, He had told me this was going to be worth fighting for…and that we’re doing! Together!

Us at the ‘Back to School Party’ the Youth Group had – I was a dork and he was a jock. I won him over though.

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

