Ten Years Ago…

Standard

A decade ago, I gave my life over to the Lord. I wish I could tell you that over the past ten years, I have done nothing but seek to glorify Him in all that I do and with all my heart, soul, mind and strength. Not quite the situation.

I was speaking to my ‘Work Mom’ this morning and telling her how I wished that someone would have been more direct in speaking to me about spiritual warfare. Because the Truth is that the devil is the prince of this world that we live in now. So things that seem to be true might not be so. Things that might appear pleasing can lead to destruction. Choices that seem right might turn out not to be so. There is so much compromise in this world and it just breaks my heart as I see it evidenced in my own life as well. How much I desire to have what I say and what I do be aligned!

As soon as I accepted Christ, my world as I knew it fell apart – my family, my sport, my relationships, my understanding, etc. I wish that through all of that, I would have turned to Christ. He just wasn’t tangible to me yet and I went back to what was familiar and comfortable. Back to the bondage. Back to the things that I didn’t want to do but kept on doing. This went on for six or seven years. Weeks or months of striving… just to ‘fail’ again and feel as if I was back at square one. However, I’ve now seen I need to shift my focus to all that I CAN do in Christ rather than the few things we’re told not to do – and even in those instructions, to better understand God’s heart and character in those ‘thou shalt nots’ so I can see the FREEDOM that He desires.

In the last ten years I have learned that I have so much more to learn. And how exciting that I have the rest of eternity to do just that! To learn and to love and to worship. How amazing! The Lord has me at a place where I once again am so aware of my desperate need for Him and Him alone. And I pray that I never again start thinking I can do it on my own. Because I have tried again and again and I just can’t. But, with Him, oh life is sweet. It is challenging and difficult but it is so sweet to have an eternal perspective and a hope that is everlasting and a love that is unchanging. In the midst of all of the compromise and confusion, it is awesome to serve a God who is consistent and unchanging! Here’s to the next ten years! 🙂

I am loving ‘Lead Me To The Cross’ lately – rid me of myself, Lord as I seek You!

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

One response »

  1. I’m so glad I finally found your blog. I’ve ready almost every post this morning. Fantastic! You are really starting to get to know yourself aren’t you?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

