A Reflection

Standard

Recently, I was reading some commentaries preparing for a Bible Study on a chapter in either 1 or 2 Corinthians. I can’t remember exactly off the top of my head (surprise, surprise)…however, I do remember the commentary pointing out that we are created in God’s image. And how God created His creation to reflect Him. The author stated that like the sun, moon, and stars, we as Christians are designed to give light. In accepting Christ, we’re given His divine nature and can reflect Him – Him being the way, the truth, and the light. I liked the author’s analogy here. Similar to in Romans when the auther points out that none of us will be left without excuse because God has used His creation to point to the Truth and existence of Himself. The life cycle of plants, for example. The Bible talks about how we need to die before we live – similar to a seed dying and in that, creating the opportunity for a beautiful life to come forth.

However, something about this commentary also bothered me. The moon does not give off light. I actually didn’t realize this until three years ago when I was helping one of my students with his Science homework and came upon this piece of knowledge. I’m not sure how I never realized that, but I hadn’t. That night, I looked at the moon in an entirely different light (pun intended, I suppose)…it was interesting to look at the moon reflecting the light of the sun. You can literally see the shadow upon the moon and can picture the exact angle in which the sun is giving off its light in order to illuminate the moon.

I am reading a book right now and one of the characters says, ‘I remember storming out of the kitchen and sitting on the porch for a while, under the light of the moon, which isn’t really light at all, just a pale reflection of the sun.” This got me thinking about the commentary. That while the moon, in fact, does not give off light as the auther suggested, it plays an important role in God’s creation. While His nature has created us to give off light (which does not come naturally to most, thanks to the Fall), He has also designed us to reflect light. Similar to the moon. In order to reflect light, we must be in contact with the source of that light.

So a few questions remain as I think about this…
-Am I giving off light to those around me?
-Am I reflecting light to those I come in contact with?
-Am I in constant relationship with the Source of light?

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

