A Weekend In…

Standard

So here I sit on a chilly Sunday morning bundled up in my big red robe.  I’ve already just about finished my bowl of Raisin Bran Crunch and am reminiscing on this weekend, this week and thinking about the things I should get done today…It has been a sweet weekend to end an emotional week.  Friday night, I got home from work and tutoring to be greeted by a Hubs to hug me and tell me, ‘whatever you want for dinner, I’ll make it – just point’.  Are you serious?!  Where’d this guy come from?  We ate dinner and headed over to celebrate Gabe’s birthday around a bonfire – enjoyed some hot chocolate and some story telling before heading home a little early since Josiah had to work in the morning.

Saturday, he was up and off to work.  I’d prefer if he only had to work one weekend day personally.  I do like one solid 8-hour chunk  by myself – I do bills, make lists, do laundry, clean up, read, relax, etc.  Sometimes I’ll catch up on phonecalls or other random errands.  It’s always a pleasant start to the weekend.  I do apologize to friends – sometimes motivation to get out and about truly does elude me.  Saturday night was lovely as well.  Hubs came home with a bundle of lillies – to which I woke up to their scent this morning – and I was preparing dinner while he came in to create a dessert.  We quickly ate dinner and jumped in the car to head down to December Nights at Balboa Park.  Valiant attempt.  After realizing we would have been better off parking at home and walking there (a solid ten mile walk), we opted to turn around and come home for movie and that aforementioned dessert!  Besides me choosing a rather morbid and depressing movie (he wanted ‘Up’, but it wasn’t on ‘On Demand’ – and I chose ‘All Good Things’), we still enjoyed a nice evening cuddling on the couch indulging in a S’mores Surprise type pie – something I’m trying to resist the urge of eating right now!!

Today, he’s back at work again.  And I’m up again – heaven forbid we sleep in around these parts!  I might go try to get my oil changed – yesterday was a failed attempt.  I might just sit here and read (into a great one called ‘The Promise of His Protection Under His Authority’ by John Bevere).  I might drive up to Orange County.  I might just stay in and watch football.  I actually think having too many options is where things become slightly overwhelming.

I’m so grateful that there’s two more weeks before a three week break.  I’m so thankful that in a little more than 3 weeks, Kalyb will be with us.  I’m so grateful for this life that I lead – and I don’t take it lightly.  We’re studying through the book of 2 Corinthians right now and just went through the third chapter.  Whew – some great food for thought!  What am I doing to be a good ‘Letter of Recommendation’ for Christ?  What are you doing?

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

One response »

  1. nice new blog look. i also enjoyed a weekend of freedom– went to a cowboy christmas poetry thing with my parents and grandma on friday night, had a day at home on saturday getting life organized, and saw some friends and watched some football on sunday. was lovely.

Leave a Reply

