Last Weekend In Review (and with unnecessary detail…)

Standard

So last weekend was such a sweet time of friends, fun, and fellowship! Right after work, Steph and Heather arrived in town from Orange County. We ran in the house, reminded my husband who they were and that they were staying the weekend, and got changed to head up to Escondido where Jen and Sam Jacobs had a timeshare for the weekend. We got up there a little bit after 6 and started the festivities – other than the previously mentioned, Jamie, Lucy, Ruth, Rachel, Tyler, Ruth, Shanon, Christina, Jon, Sasha, and Matt were all involved! We browsed wedding pictures, enjoyed some snacks, ordered pizzas, and spent time at the Rec Center (some of us chatting, others playing pool and foosball). It was such a fun evening with the Jacobs back in town. I miss that Jen so much!!

We headed home pretty early since Josiah had to work in the morning. We enjoyed our ride with Steph, Heather, and Jamie and on the way up there even introduced Josiah to urbandictionary.com where we looked up and were amused by the definitions for each of our names (I would urge you to do so as well – just weed out the good and the bad!) Josiah went straight to bed and Heather, Steph and I got to enjoy some girl talk until about midnight when we were all about to crash. Somehow, I slept in til 10 in the morning and woke up to two girls jumping into bed with me telling me it was time to wake up! We enjoyed a lazy breakfast together then Dave came to pick up Heather and Steph got ready for a friend’s wedding. Josiah got home from work and we enjoyed a nice time together just talking and laughing. We felt like we really hadn’t seen each other all week since each night we hadn’t been home til close to 10. Not fun!

Josiah got ready and headed up to San Marcos to meet a friend and go to the Sho’ Baracka (I’m probably butchering his name) concert and was THRILLED he even got to meet him in person and talk to him for a little bit! I headed out to San Diego state where a group of us went to the SDSU vs. USD Men’s Basketball game. First half was great, but I felt so bad for USD in the second half. Valiant effort, boys! It was still a good time 🙂 Headed home and enjoyed a good heart to heart with Lucy before going back home to meet Steph and stay up to all hours of the night chatting some more!

Sunday, we woke up a little bit earlier, ate some breakfast, and then joined Jamie and some of her friends for church at Horizon. Afterwards, we headed up to Stone Flats for lunch and enjoyed hours in the sun talking and catching up – reminiscing on how much more often we used to be able to see each other! But, so thankful for Christ at the center of our friendship that always makes it exciting and fun to catch up and see what He is up to! Steph headed out about 3pm and I had full intentions of a nap when Josiah got home early. I kept him downstairs watching TV while I enjoyed a power nap before church that night. We headed to church and stopped by the grocery store on the way home in order to get some dinner to enjoy while watching the Cowboys game. A disappointing ending for the Cowboys, but a fabulous weekend for me! Although, I did thoroughly miss my husband. Our fourth month anniversary even came and went with us being too busy to even remember it! It is so sweet to be married to a man that I love spending time with. He makes me laugh. He challenges me. He encourages me. And no matter how many times he tells me he loves me, and I ask why – he always comes up with a list of answers without hesitation. It is a sweet feeling to be loved and I am thankful for the glimpse of the Lord’s love for me that I receive through him.

Happy mid-December everyone!!

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

