C’mon Regis and Kelly!!!

Standard

My mom sent Josiah and I a text the other day informing us that Regis and Kelly are having a competition for the ‘World’s Greatest Love Story’.  You better believe we entered!  I feel like it’d be much better if I could submit a video sharing out story because so much can’t totally be conveyed on a one page story, but I thought I’d give you a sneak peak…and I’m mailing it in on Tuesday, so if there’s any corrections you’d make, let me know (keep in mind it is at its length limit):

I must admit that the greatest love story that I know is compliments of yours truly.  Let me attempt to summarize this incredible journey (summarizing is not my forte as you will soon realize; however, I will make a valiant attempt)…

So there I was (most good stories start out this way, this one not excluded) – 2009 and on what I dubbed a ‘Husband Hunt’.  Yes, that might sound a little aggressive, but it was true.  Let it also be noted I was unwilling to compromise and was not going to settle for just anyone.  I am notorious for my lists and I most certainly had a list of requirements for this potential husband of mine.  Problem was, there was absolutely nobody on the horizon.  I had tried church, on-line sites, blind dates, etc. – but nobody was fitting the bill!  My 93 year-old Grandma had even offered to start hanging posters around her neighborhood helping in this Husband Hunt.  In order to let you know that I wasn’t as desperate as all of this seems (it was more of a joke with serious undertones, if you will) – you must realize that I am a 6’3’’ woman and a strong Christian, so that really narrows down that proverbial sea that people claim is full of other fish!

February 4, 2010 (2009’s Husband Hunt had proven unsuccessful.  But the mission was continuing).  My mom and I scheduled a rendezvous in Oceanside for some dinner/shopping.  The day in itself was noteworthy, but seeing as I’m trying to have this fit in the one page requirement without using a font that would require a magnifying glass to read, I’ll leave out those details.  The point of all of it is that we ended up in Marshall’s looking for shoes for my aforementioned Grandma.  While perusing the aisles, a tall woman boldly approached us asking if she could walk with us for a minute to be around someone that she could make eye contact with.  Any woman over 6’ tall would instantly recognize this camaraderie that comes from being rather Avatar-like in a society where the average woman is 5’4’’ (seriously it is, look it up!). 

A wonderful ‘tall’ conversation ensued – discussing where we buy clothes, what sports we participated in, etc.  At one point she brought up the fact that her daughter feels like a shrimp because she is only 5’9’’ and she herself is 6’ and her son is 6’6’’.  Well, to say this height statement immediately caught my attention would be an understatement.  I made eye contact with my mom in order to get the head nod, and quickly responded with, ‘Well, is he single?!’.  Enter dramatic shift in conver-sation.  This woman (Lynn, we would come to know), looked me up and down and said, ‘yes…’.  I followed with, ‘Well, is he a Christian?’.  She instantly replied, ‘YES!’.  It might have been at that point I determined that her son would, in fact, be the man that I would marry – but I didn’t want to come off too forward, so we simply exchanged emails and Facebook information.  Lynn had also decided that her son would absolutely adore me (as he should).  When my mom and I left that night, I was praying that this man would be my husband (in fact, I texted my sister, my roommates, and my best friend that I had met my future mother-in-law), and come to find out Lynn was letting God (as well as anybody else she came in contact with) know that she sure would like me as a daughter-in-law!

The next day I received a Facebook message from Lynn’s son, Josiah (his mother had never attempted to set him up before, so her reaching out to him and giving him my information had caught his attention.  And he proceeded to look at all of my pictures and videos and become very interested as well!).  We spent a few days going back and forth via email and sharing life stories before he asked for my phone number.  February 9, 2010 was our first phone conversation.  And it lasted 4 hours (at the time, he was living on Catalina Island which was an 1 ½ drive and an 1 ½ boat drive from where I was in San Diego).  We both pretty much knew by the end of that conversation that this was it!  I decided to go out there on February 19th to meet him in person!  I was there for less than 24 hours but meeting him face to face sealed the deal!  On our first date, our waitress even commented, ‘oh look at you two, dating, the body language, so in love…’ (uh, ma’am, this is our first time even seeing each other).  We joked that instead of the quote ‘All because two people fell in love…’ we would have to incorporate ‘All because three woman met at Marshall’s’ into our love story.  To say we entered a whirlwind relationship would be yet another understatement!  Josiah met every ‘criteria’ on my list and beyond.  Before I even met him in person that weekend, I felt that God was knitting our hearts together (don’t worry, I waited to tell him this so I wasn’t a total creep). 

Here’s an outline of our ‘dates’:                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Feb. 9th – 1st phone conversation       Feb. 19th – 1st time meeting     March 9th – Josiah surprised me for my birthday         End of March – I went to Catalina for Spring Break     April 11th – Josiah came to meet my family and to surprise me with a proposal!  We finally shared our first kiss J       End of April – Josiah’s boss allowed him to finish before his commitment was complete so that he could move to San Diego to be closer to me        Aug. 9th (8/9/10) – Josiah and I were married!!!!! 

We were married 6 months to the day from our first conversation and just celebrated our 5 month anniversary!  Josiah is an absolutely incredible husband – he’s loving, passionate, considerate, hard-working, devoted, respectful, funny, outgoing, (I could keep going…but as you’re well aware, I’m about at my limit).  We have had such a fun time over this past year, it still all feels surreal.  I have the opportunity to share ‘our story’ often and am always reminded of how faithful our God is!  We are incredibly blessed.  I wish there was more room to detail the amazing experiences we’ve already shared, but I guess we’ll just have to do that on your show next month as we celebrate our 1 year anniversary of knowing each other 🙂

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

3 responses »

  1. This would be the time to embelish more! I bet you never thought you would hear me say this! I recall hugging Lynn and saying ” It is odd to meet Karolyn’s mother in law before she even meets your son.” I also recall us laughing and holding arms walking out of Marshall’s saying to you “Karolyn I think that is your mother in law!” You responded “Do you really think so?” Me “Yes, God works in mysterious ways”. You could add to your presents at HSC for seeking a husband. All your conversations, plans. More about getting to Catalina, the man taking your photo Russian? Josiah working at the camp I went to. Coincidences add to the story. Also about the engagement- yes I, your mother, am asking for more details and drama that you are so good at.

Leave a Reply

