Friendship and Consecration

Standard

As I started this morning out, the word ‘Consecration’ was resounding in my heart.  The definition of consecration is “a solemn commitment of your life or your time to some cherished purpose”.  I love this!  This is just what I want and have done – I have committed to getting up early the next three weeks (don’t they say it takes 21 days to make a habit?  Hopefully I’ll be forming some good ones!).  And, yes, this is a cherished purpose to me – to seek wholeheartedly after the Lord.  And, my oh my, how the happenings can easily get in the way without a purposeful intention. 

Lately, I’ve really loved having boundaries in life.  They make our ‘yes’s’ and our ‘no’s’ really easy.  For example, we’re on a crazy Mission Get Out of Debt (we refer to it as the GOOD mission – or wait, maybe that’s just me.).  But, having our budget set up and those boundaries in place have made saying yes and no a lot easier.  When I used to depend so much on my credit card, I’d do things that were above my means and wouldn’t think twice about it (although now I’m thinking about it as we’re just now paying for all of it!).  I think of this in relationship to the Lord as well.  If my relationship with Him and dependence on Him is more of a priority, I won’t be as inclined to do things out of my own strength.  When consistently in communion with Him, it will be easier to say yes and to say no – because I’ll know whether or not it alligns with His purpose for my life.  Does that make sense?  I might be stretching it a little bit.  But, it almost seems like an oxymoron to state that in having boundaries we experience more freedom – but isn’t that the beauty of it?!  As we seek after His heart and realize the ‘boundaries’ that He’s placed in our life our really for our benefit in being able to better know Him, isn’t that a freeing place to be?  I love it!

Anyways, after those ramblings….I’ve also been thinking a lot about friendship lately.  Probably because I had a great time this weekend getting to spend time with a friend, got a good catch up phone conversation with another dear friend of mine followed by a few hour hang out with another friend I haven’t seen in months.  Followed by today getting to work with friends, come home to my best friend (aka ‘Da Hubs), then an awesome phone conversation with a feathered friend (inside joke, don’t worry, I haven’t gone crazy consulting the birds), and finally spending the evening in the hot tub with a precious friend.  What a beautiful blessing He has bestowed upon me!  As far as friendships go, I have been so incredibly blessed.  I desire for more consistency in many of those friendships – life gets so far ahead of us sometimes, it’s hard to keep up with it all.  But, really, I am so thankful.

I know this has kind of been a little all over the place, but that’s okay – it’s more for me to remember some of this stuff.  It’s just amazing to me that Jesus calls me Friend.  What am I doing with that friendship?  How am I pursuing that friendship?  Am I being loyal?  Loving? Fun?  Giving?  Generous? Consistent?  Honest?

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

