His promptings…

Standard

I’m getting sick.  Or fighting off sickness.  Something like that.  I never get sick so that’s a bummer 😦  Considering the fact I’m surrounded by snot-infested children on a daily basis, it’s actually pretty awesome that I don’t get sick more often than I do.  A few years ago I counted the times my sister (whom I lived with at the time), my boyfriend (at the time), and my good friend got sick compared to me.  17-1.  No joke!  Should have taken the Hubs’ advice and taken some of his Airborne.

Anyways…enough about that.  Today I’ve thought a lot about an idea that a Bible Study leader shared with me while in college.  ‘Be Sensitive to His Promptings’.  I’ve thought about this often, incorporate it into my prayers, and keep it in mind while reading my Bible.  Sensitive to HIS promptings – not my own desires, my own selfishness, my own ideas – but rather His promptings.  Oh, what a glorious way to live!

And, today alone I can think of three chances that I wasn’t sensitive to what it was He was telling me.  Three times.  Imagine how much more He would speak IF I would listen.  Imagine how much more He IS speaking but I fill my mind with other thoughts, distractions, motives, etc.

Annoying.  But it also creates a resolve to do things different tomorrow. And, hey, maybe I’ll even venture to start out on that decision tonight!  Be still, my soul.  Be still and know that He is God.  And He wants to talk to you.  He does talk to you.  Now listen…

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

One response »

  1. I remember asking Jean why I did not get answers to my prayers. I was so concerned because I prayed so often. Her response was be quiet and listen! God always answers but you have to be quiet and listen. Meditation is a way to listen. Maybe quit trying so hard and just be calm, quiet and willing to know and do God’s will in your life. Be patient, we are given many chances to be close to God. Each time we do it better – Progress not perfection. God smiles on you often because you are so willing and hungry for a relationship!

Leave a Reply

