Storytelling

Standard

I didn’t get the chance to write yesterday – ended up taking a babysitting gig that had me away from the computer and by the time I was home, I was ready to spend some time with the Hubs and head to bed.

Yesterday, as I was incorporating the practice of sitting still in my life – the idea of storytelling came to me.  I was thinking about how throughout the day, even in the most boisterous of groups I teach, if I begin to tell a story or read a book, I can capture their attention.  If only for a moment.  I love telling stories to kids.  Using fun voices (my husband would disagree – ‘fun’ would not be the adjective he would choose.  Maybe ‘annoying’ would be more like it.).  I love the privilege of being able to engage their imaginations and help them create stories in their minds.  I LOVED story time each night with Kalyb while he was here.  He preferred that ‘Mr. Funny’ (a stuffed animal frog he named because I was cracking him up with this ‘Mr. Funny’ character) do all the story telling.  It was absolutely hilarious.  Kalyb would even pick his knee up in the air and hit it with his hand – creating a real ‘knee slapper’, if you will.  When I tried to imitate him and join in on the knee slapping fun at one point, he quickly stopped laughing, looked at me and said, ‘no.  This is not for adults.  Just for kids.’  Well, soooorry!  Glad he set it straight 🙂

Anyways, back to the idea of storytelling.  Last year, when contemplating my job and what I really wanted to do with my life, the idea of writing children’s books came to me.  I even brainstormed with a friend of mine: she would illustrate, I would write.  We created the characters.  We imagined ourselves in a little studio – maybe somewhere up in a northern California coastal town – spending the days writing and drawing and creating away.  Oh, I would just love it!  Maybe it’s because today has felt more rushed that such a calmness seems so welcoming.  But, I think there’s a part of my mind that’s so creative and I haven’t made the opportunities to utitlize that lately.

When I was younger, I had an incredible imagination.  Seriously – ask my mom, ask my friends from that time, ask me 🙂  It was incredible.  I didn’t need anybody around to completely amuse myself and create my own little world – now believe me, if people wanted to join in, I’d quickly put them to work and appoint them a character or activity and get them moving.  Even in my creativity there is quite a bit of structure and organization.  I like that though.  I like structure.  I like creating.  I love writing – it can just be so daunting sometimes.  I love organization. 

I look all around and realize that this God that I serve is incredibly creative.  Incredibly organized and structured.  Yet, also spontaneous and engaging.  Now, how am I going to incorporate some of that creativity into this life of mine these days??

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

One response »

  1. develop your creativity and soar. God gave you this story telling gift – think it came from Papa- you used to love his stories. Wish I had recorded some! 😦 You have ALWAYS been able to amuse yourself and be very creative. GO KAROLYN love you MOM

Leave a Reply

