Provision

Standard

A few years ago, while I was in HSE, it was time to make my final payment of the second semester.  I was about $80 short and not sure where that money was going to come from.  THAT DAY, I received a check in the mail from a friend for $83.75 – the Lord had laid it on her heart to mail it to me for tuition.  What a random number for Him to give her, what an incredible God that we serve that would provide for us in such simple yet incredible ways.

It’s unfortunate that so often I get caught up in the ‘how’  is this going to work.  I’m quite emotional; however, I do have a strong sense of logic on my side as well.  As it’s been for the last six years of my life, I’m still the one that does the bill paying and check balancing (it’s sick, really.  I love it.  I could do it all day everyday.)  We agree upon the budget together, but I’m the one who has the understanding of the bigger picture that so oftentimes dictates my thoughts.  (Starbucks?  No thanks, I’d rather but that $4.26 towards my credit card bill.  You rented how many movies this month?  That’s $7.56 that could have gone to debt.).  I might have taken our Mission Get Out Of Debt to an extreme; but it’s needed.  (As Dave Ramsey says, live different now so we can live different later!)  And we’re not starving, we’re not hurting – we’re quite blessed actually!  In fact, being on a budget has really helped change our perspective.

Anyways, all of this rambling to say that there is something quite large that we’ve been praying about lately (the big reveal will come later in the year); however, there were two pretty big things that needed to happen before we could do anything.  So part of our prayers were asking the Lord to somehow provide a (quite substantial) bit of money.  Well, let me just tell you, as I was working it out in my head last week about all the different ways we could move money around, I felt the Lord tell me, ‘Stop doing this in your own strength.  Let Me provide.’.  Okay, Lord, go ahead and take care of that. I’ll gladly hand that over.  Well, this weekend, something pretty incredible happened – miraculous really.  Between an unexpected pay raise and filing our taxes, we ended up with $1.52 over what we had been praying for.  Really?!  An extra $1.52 on top of it?!  That’s a Redbox movie for the Hubs.  A pack of gum for me.  We’ll have to battle over that 🙂 

I’m just humbled.  Amazed.  In awe.  And now entering a bittersweet time….more details later.

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

One response »

  1. God is so good and faithful! It’s true- so many times we need to just “Let go, and Let God”. Thank you so much for sharing your posts- I look forward to each one, and I can’t wait to hear more details later!

Leave a Reply

