Birthday Festivities

Standard

I truly feel that this has been a birthMONTH of activities, rather than just a birthday 🙂  Since we just finished up celebrating this past Sunday, I thought I’d blog about it and let you all know the fun stuff going on this month.  As you know, my Grandpa passed away on March 1st, so we were all together at my grandparents home in March and enjoyed a little cake and ice cream – not necessarily under the ‘fun’ category, but nice to be with family and celebrating such an incredible man. 

On my actual birthday, some coworkers treated me to lunch and Ruth invited herself to decorate my quarter of the classroom and my car!  That evening, I headed to the weekly Bible Study with my girls and then convinced everyone to come over to Yogurtland with me for old time’s sake 🙂 On Friday, my wonderful Hubs had a surprise planned for us.  I was told when to be ready and what to wear and off we went!  We ended up in Old Town at Harney Sushi – YUM!  We had to wait for over an hour, so spent time wandering through the shops and walking the streets as we waited for another couple to arrive – also a surprise!  It was a couple that we’d been talking about having a double date with for the past month or so and the timing worked out perfectly!  We enjoyed LOTS of YUMMY sushi with Mikey and Sandra and then headed home.

Saturday, Josiah had to work and I cleaned the house and prepared it for a surprise party for my friend Mistie.  Her birthday isn’t until later in the month, but her mom was in town and we conspired and decided to do an early celebration!  It was another fun night of sushi and celebration – we played games, laughed, and had a great time. 

Sunday, it was off to church and then home to prepare for yet more celebrations!  About 25 people came over on Sunday afternoon for a delicious spread of food (thanks everyone!), a fabulous game of ‘Fish Bowl’ (my team won, naturally), and a homemade lemon cake my mom made, per my request 🙂  The day was perfect and we wrapped it up by renting a movie to unwind – poor Josiah, all this running around with only one day off is exhausting!  But he’s such a trooper!

As a birthday celebration finale, we headed up to my mom and Jim’s this past Sunday.  We enjoyed lunch and some r&r before beginning the trek up to Hollywood.  Josiah was excited to explore the city, but the weather wasn’t as cooperative – so we spend some time driving by some sites and through Beverly Hills before enjoying dinner at the Larchmont Grill.  Oh. My. Goodness.  DECLICIOUS!!!  We started off with some perfectly seasoned calamari, then I had an exquisite pear arugula salad before moving onto Sweet corn shrimp ravioli (strange, right?! – Josiah was so proud that I branched out beyond my usual Salmon…plus my mom had ordered that, so I knew I could try a bite!).  The men had a barely cooked piece of Filet – I’m pretty sure I heard it moo and was disgusted, but they enjoyed it!  We wrapped up with three desserts amongst the four of us –  I had a chocolate pistachio torte and we also ordered a pear/peach crisp and a cinnamon apple pie – both a la mode, of course!  YUM!

Then it was off to the Pantages for a Sunday evening musical!!  My mom and Jim got us all tickets to Beauty and the Beast for my birthday.  I had seen it about 15 years ago at the Gammage in Arizona and was looking forward to seeing it again, especially since one of our family friends was in the performance!  We got to stay afterwards and chat with Lars for a little bit before dropping him off at his hotel.   It was such a fun day!  And a wonderful performance!  We headed home about 10, stopped at my mom and Jim’s to get our car and then began the trek home.  Ugh.  Something I do not recommend – it was POURING rain and I believe that I hydroplaned about 7 times (seriously.  Thankfully I never lost total control, but it was so scary!).  Thankfully, we made it home safely a little bit after midnight. 

What a FUN and FABULOUS birthday to celebrate 29 years….now onto 30!  What an adventure!!

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

