Life as we know it…

Standard

…is totally different than we could ever imagine!  The last thirty six hours of our life have drastically changed our day-to-day routine (if there ever was one!).  I know the Lord is stripping me of my tendency to over-plan and schedule every detail of my life as I CLING to Him to guide, direct, and ease the discomfort of not knowing what to expect.

I’ve never been the step-parent of an adorable 4 1/2 year old little boy.  I’ve never been  a wife (until 8 1/2 months ago, obviously).  I’ve never been a full-time worker that has had to balance the aforementioned in addition to wrapping up a school year – we all know how those can be!  I can hardly believe it.  What an absolute blessing.  As I read all the blogs of people who I stalk (unbeknownst to most of them), tears fill my eyes.  What an incredible work our God is doing within and around so many people.  No wonder God created us so relational – in order to experience things just a little bit deeper – the pain and the gladness.  And, oh, my soul is so glad right now.  Glad I’ve been chosen to serve Him in this capacity – that I’d be entrusted with incredible students, an amazing husband, and an entertaining little one! 

What a sweet weekend – it will be difficult to be at work and focused tomorrow knowing there are two boys here that I LOVE to be around.  We’re also getting to spend this week with Deja in town during her spring break and we just can’t wait!  This is sure to be a FULL week – so thankful for this past week of feeling full in a way that I will now be able to pour out.  I’ve felt a little dry lately – just one of those seasons, I suppose.

So here we are.  Wrapping up a weekend – a Saturday spent with 18 hours of travel (4 planes, a great lunch break with Kalyb’s Memaw and Grandma Frances, a slight breakdown at the airport that took almost 40 minutes to remedy – but then a quick turn around, and an incredibly blessed final flight including three hours of conversation with a beautiful older woman named Jane who loves Jesus and a little blonde-headed boy sleeping on my lap).  Blessed.  So blessed.

I’ve now been interrupted by the sounds of uncontrollable laughter as Kalyb is attacked by Josiah en route to bathtime/bedtime.  I’ll go join in on the fun!

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

