He’s Risen!!

Standard

A few nights ago, we decided to read the story of Jesus’ resurrection to Kalyb before bed.  Since Easter was quickly approaching, it seemed appropriate that we would let him know the reason behind why we were celebrating.  Throughout the week, Kalyb had been a little stubborn towards the things of God.  When we’d pray at dinner to thank God for our food his response would be – ‘God didn’t give us this food, we got it from the store!’  Very true, little one, but God gave us the means to get this food! 

Anyways, as we read through the story I began telling him that Jesus was killed by people who didn’t like him.  Kalyb looked at me very worried and questioned me about why they would kill him?  What did he do wrong?  We then went onto explain how he was buried in a tomb – wrapped up like a zombie, as Kalyb decided. 

The story continued…Three days later, Jesus rose from the dead!  Kalyb excitedly exclaimed, ‘HE’S ALIVE?!?!’  I responded excitedly with ‘YES HE IS!!’…Kalyb grabbed my neck, gave me a huge hug and started rocking back and forth he was so thrilled with the news that Jesus is alive.  ‘You mean we get to meet him?!’  Well, yes, Kalyb, when it’s our turn to go to Heaven, we get to meet Him in person – but until then, we have Him in our heart!  Kalyb was wondering where baby Jesus was in Heaven – we then got to explain that baby Jesus has, in fact, grown up and even died for each one of our sins.  Kalyb’s pretty convinced Jesus is bigger than Hulk. 

It was the sweetest thing to experience this through a child’s eyes – am I daily that thrilled that Jesus is alive?!  Am I wanting to shake people and hug people and EXCLAIM about the reality of his resurrection?!  If not, what is stopping me?

Happy Easter! 

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

