Are you my friend?

Standard

So, we’ve been in Dallas just about two months exactly.  I know, I know – I haven’t blogged in almost three and you are just desperate to know what’s been going on these last two months!  😉  We’ll save that for another post…

A few weeks ago, while at a training, I was in the bathroom and saw a girl that looked like someone I could be friends with.  I started laughing thinking about the book, ‘Are you my mother?’ and thought maybe I should start asking people, ‘Do you want to be my friend?’ in the same sense.

Having lived with a plethora of friends the last few years of my life and my sister (aka built in friend) before that, it has been a somewhat difficult transition out to Texas.  Yes, I have former teammates in the area.  But, we’re kind of all over the metroplex and we’ve only been able to get together once since I’ve been here.  And, yes, I have some college friends – but they’re an hour away, and when you want to meet up for a quick cup of coffee or daily debrief, that is a challenge.

I was spoiled getting to live with, work with, going to church with, working out with, and doing life with friends.  And, not just any friends – some creme de la creme (is that a phrase?) – some God-fearing women that challenged me, encouraged me, knew me and loved me.  So, I think we all know that I don’t necessarily have a lacking of solid friendships in my live, I am just in a season where I am lacking solid friends who live in my vicinity.  Woe is me, I know.

All this to say, I have had the sweetest last few days of the Lord reminding me that I do, in fact, have friends.  After being slightly depressed Thursday night as my husband left for a ‘men’s night’ and I was left by my lonesome.  I really didn’t want to go to my bootcamp, but chose to go and had the sweetest time talking to two different women there.  Just what my heart needed.
On the way home, I made a phone call and got to spend an hour

and a half talking with Susan, affectionately dubbed my ‘work mom’ –

what a blessing 🙂  Afterwards, I got to talk

to my Pops for a little bit which is always enjoyable!

Friday, I drove out to Ft. Worth because the one and only Jamie Friesen was in town with SDSU’s soccer team since they were playing TCU.  We got to spend some time in the lobby and then I tagged along for their pre-game meal and got called something along the lines of a ‘fat sausage’ – always the joy giver, that Jamie.  😉

Afterwards, I got to connect with Erin Sepp Hanson aka the Birthday girl for quite a while via phone!  Made me wish I was close by to share in a glass of wine and some of her cake, but it was great nonetheless!  Being friendless, you take what you can get!

Before working the football game, I got to spend time chatting with Lyndsey Huff – another personal favorite and friend since middle school.

Saturday, I spent two hours on Skype with the amazing Maria!  Just awesome and encouraging to hear all the things the Lord is doing in and through her and I’m just blessed to be a part of it!

I spent Saturday afternoon running errands and debating whether I wanted to go to my Pastor’s house for dinner for the new small group leaders.  After all, I have no friends and my husband couldn’t come with me since he was working.  I decided to go.  I spent the drive there talking to the fabulous Natalie – what a busy and emotional rollercoaster of a month she has had, and got the courage to enter in by my lonesome.

I probably looked hilarious surveying the crowd.  In my mind, I’m thinking, I need a friend and a mentor – who could you be?  I found a small group talking that included a girl about my age and a woman about my mom’s age and thought – jackpot!  This could be friend and mentor.  Although I didn’t end up exchanging information with them, I did befriend the girl who was sitting next to me at dinner and we had a great time chatting – a bonus is that she’s a hairdresser willing to barter for a massage 🙂  And, when I was going to leave, a girl followed me out and said she overheard me saying that we lived at CFNI and she does too!  So, we exchanged numbers so now I have a potential neighbor friend as well.  A blessed evening overall!

Spent the ride home chatting, catching up, venting to, and laughing with Jamie.  Oh my.  I miss that girl.  Rather than Sleepless in Seattle – we’re more along the lines of ‘Friendless in two different cities’.

Today, we spent the day with family – had a Skype date with Kalyb before church then to Grandma Kiki’s after church.  Then, over to Randy and Mari’s so that Josiah could help his dad work and Mari spoiled her daughter and I with pedicures before I headed home to ‘work’.

Well, the work idea has quickly gone out the window since I realized that my friend Sarah Hennes from my UNT Eagle Ambassador days is actually going to swing by any minute now!  YAH!  (She just departed…a quick trip, but so fun to laugh and get great hugs!!)

And, I’m hoping to connect with Mistie on a phone date tonight since we’ve unsuccessfully played phone tag for two months now (would the be considered successful since it’s been going on that long?  Just unsuccessful in the talking time, but successful in the tag time?)

Anyways, no need to worry, friends – I do, in fact, have some friends!  And, most importantly – I’ve been learning lots in my time with the Lord and get to live with my best friend, that amazing Hubs of mine!

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

One response »

  1. Missing you. Glad you made some connections!
    No mention of your mom’s visit>>>>> 😦
    thought we were doing better as friends??

Leave a Reply

