12 Weeks…

Standard

Perhaps at one point in our lives, a blog will start out with a similar name and be about a different subject altogether, but for now, that is not the case 🙂

I’ve counted it up and have realized I have been back in Texas for 12 weeks as of today.  WHEW – how time flies!!  (Josiah joined me about a week later, so he’s just short of being out here 12 weeks…but, I’ll tell you what, those first five days made a difference because of the UNBEARABLE heat that was out here…)

So, I’m going to try to sum it up (which is laughable for anybody who knows me).  I arrived just in time to receive a call asking me to show up to work in an hour.  After jumping off the plane, renting a car, and finding my way to Oak Cliff, I made it in time for a coach’s orientation.  I might have looked a hot mess, but they were impressed I got there that fast.  And that about sums up my 12 weeks: it’s been fast and furious!!  I stayed with a former teammate the first five days that I was here (thanks, Karen!) and got to see a few Lady Eagles (Angel, Bobo, and Roz) as well.  That first week I was back was also my little sister, Alisha’s, birthday.  The first one we’ve gotten to spend together in quite some time!  Unfortunately, I was exhausted and had plans at 7 the next morning, so we couldn’t do anything too exciting – but it was nice just to know we are back in the same vicinity (although we have not seen each other since…)

Josiah arrived and we stayed with his dad and stepmom (what a blessing to have them close by!) before making our trek out to Oak Cliff.  Some of you know about the debaucle and for those of you that don’t – our stuff arrived 2 1/2 weeks late so we got to spend our first anniversary on an air mattress (Josiah) and a couch (Karolyn) in an apartment with a non-functioning air conditioner (think 92 humid degrees) but thankfully enjoyed a delicious dinner of sushi and some Marble Slab beforehand (both at air conditioned facilities)!  (I suppose I should do another blog altogether on our anniversary….note to self).

The first two weeks, I spent at training for my new job.  Fun to get acclimated and meet all the new faces and get a better idea of what was expected of me.  My students came back to school on August 15th – the first day Josiah embarked on his new endeavor!  It’s been fun going through a semester together 🙂  Josiah is LOVING school and meeting lots of great friends, learning lots of great information, and enjoying a unique college experience!

Also in that first week began volleyball try-outs.  A sport of which I know nothing about.  Nada.  The Athletic Director assured me this was okay due to the fact I probably knew more than most 7th graders.  I’ll give him that – but what a learning curve!  We just wrapped up our season last week and didn’t even win a match 😦  (for the record, there will be no more information or further blogs on that topic…).  We got to spend a weekend helping Ginny and Kingsley move to their new home in Krum before spending the next weekend in San Antonio!!  This was our actual celebration of our one year – and although I didn’t realize it before, getting married in August is definitely conducive to a 3 day weekend getaway over Labor Day, so hopefully we’ll continue that tradition.  We had a great time exploring the city, eating too much, enjoying each other’s company and even getting to see a few of my friends.  We had such a great time!! I do love that husband of mine.

We joined The Oaks Fellowship (a church we LOVE) and started attending a Marriage Class they offered – it’s been fun to spend some time with other couples learning more about our roles in marriage.  Of course, I’m struggling with the implementation part – but I’m a work in progress!!  We were blessed with the arrival of my mom on September 16th!!  She flew into town to check out our new digs and to get some QT girl time in – what a fun weekend we had!!  We spend Saturday at a grape festival (read: wine) in Grapevine and then my mom and I headed out to Monica’s that night for an evening of carbs, sugar, and conversation!  (We LOVE those girls!!).  Sunday, we went to church at the aforementioned and enjoyed a great service and mom even got to meet some co-workers, bosses, and students while we were there 🙂  We spent the afternoon shopping whilst my mother thoroughly spoiled me and then met up with Randy and Mari for a delicious dinner at Pappadeaux’s.  YUMMY.  Monday was very sad as Josiah dropped me off at work and then took my Mama back to the airport 😦  It was so great to have her out here and I can’t wait to see her again in less than two months.  We were so spoiled getting to live within 100 miles of each other before.  (this weekend should also receive its own post…)

Thursday, September 28th, my husband joined me up at school in the morning where we were a part of ‘See You At The Pole’ with about 30 students.  It was a great way to start our day 🙂  My husband in the meantime has also become ‘The Voice of the Lions’ aka the Announcer at our high school football games.  It’s so fun having him involved on my campus and naturally, he’s a fan favorite 🙂  And a personal favorite of mine…

We’ve spent some time having couples over for my husband’s amazing cooking (seriously the best alfredo sauce I’ve ever had.  Could have eaten that healthy concoction by its lonesome.), working out (the couples don’t do this with us – this is usually an individual activity or I’m at a bootcamp – I think we’d really scare people off), organizing our home (always a work in progress as well), hanging out with family, meeting new people, living, laughing and learning.  A lovely season indeed.

Basketball practice got underway this week and Josiah keeps busy with work, school, more work, and some play.  (I’m kinda feeling like I’m writing a Christmas letter here…sorry!  For those who haven’t received the disclaimer, this is more for me to keep track of my life than for your viewing pleasure).  We wrapped up our marriage class and boot camp comes to an end this week.  That should open up some time for our newest addition…..

KALYB IS COMING BACK!!  I am flying out to Germany to pick him up on Nov. 19th.  It will quite possibly be the longest 80 hours of my life but is sure to be well worth it!  He has had a challenging time over there and his mother has decided it would be best for him at this time to be back with us.  Please pray for Kalyb during the transition back to us, for Maggie (his mom) to have comfort and peace in her decision, and for us to glorify the Lord in all that we do.

So, needless to say, our life will be changing quite drastically over the next four weeks.  Hence the reason I decided to update now.  And before he arrives, I better go find that camera of mine again – you know I love snapping some family fotos!  Can’t wait to see what the next 12 weeks has in store….we have been blessed.

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

