2011…

Standard

1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?

Parented.  Whew – that will show you your need for Jesus!

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I chose not to do resolutions last year and was quite satisfied and have chosen the same for this year.  I’d like to be intentional in all that I do and that about sums up my life motto for this season – so, it’s not really a resolution but a lifestyle I’m trying to incorporate.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

My cousin, Heather in early December to another little boy, Felix!  And, since I’m waiting so late to write this and it’s not just a 2011 update, my sister-in-law, Nichole had a little boy on January 4th, Anthony.  So many boys in this family!!

4. Did anyone close to you die?

My Grandpa passed away in March after a few weeks of illness.  So thankful that he didn’t suffer for long.  So thankful that I got to see him before he went.  So thankful for family that got to get together and celebrate his life twice.  And, most importantly, so thankful for the example he set.
5. What countries did you visit?

Good old US of A.  I believe we went to Mexico a few times for dental work for the Hubs, and that’s about it!  Although many Texans consider this place their own country, so we could go ahead and include Texas in that count!

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?

Stability in where we live which shouldn’t be a problem – we don’t see any moves in 2012.  Well, perhaps LATE 2012 but it’d be within our complex, so that’s not quite a daunting.

7. What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

March 3rd – the day my amazing Grandpa passed away.  July 17th – the day we began our trek eastward.  November 19th – the day I left to go pick up Kalyb in Germany.

8. What was your biggest achievement for the year?

Not too many achievements in 2011 – I was awarded ‘Support Teacher of the Year’ from King Chavez before I left which was really special.  And I think an achievement is becoming a better wife and (step) mother.  Also really thankful that I secured a job in Texas – one that I LOVE!  That’s an achievement, this day in age.

9. What was your biggest failure?

This gentle, encouraging, supportive wife thing is challenging for me – but so thankful that it draws me closer to Jesus and that I married a man so patient, forgiving, and loving with me.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Is homesickness an illness?  Sure missed my west coast family and friends a lot.  Still do.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Hmm…we’re trying to turn away from buying too much (thanks, Jesus courtesy of promptings by Dave Ramsey) – but I really like the things that my mom helped me buy to make our bathroom complete.  That and a $10 TV antennae – who knew I would miss a functioning TV that much?
12. Where did most of your money go?

Debt, debt and more debt.  Discouraging at times – but so encouraging that we see the light at the end of the tunnel!

13. What did you get really excited about?

Getting out of debt!  Coaching volleyball and basketball – I’m constantly amazed at how intense 7th grade sports can get.  That and teaching Kalyb about Jesus – so amazing to watch his heart change!

14. What song will always remind you of 2011?

Nothing comes to mind…I prefer silence when I can get it.

15. Compared to this time last year, are you:
-Happier or sadder?

Sadder – away from family and friends, but slowly becoming happier

-Thinner or fatter?

Thinner for unbeknownst reasons.

-Richer or poorer?

Richer in love – and since we’re closer to being out of debt, richer in that sense too.

16. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Nothing comes to mind here either…I was blessed with a very fulfilling 2011.

17. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Probably facebook.

18. How did you spend Christmas?

Two weeks of celebrating with all families: we started with just the three of us, went to AZ for time with Mom & Jim, Becca, and Dad and then we spent actual Christmas in Amarillo with Nichole & family and Lynn & Rudy before having a late Christmas with Randy & Mari.  We are blessed beyond measure.

19. What was your favorite TV program?

We’re gluttons for Grey’s.  That’s about all we watch really.

20. What were your favorite books of the year?

Kisses from Katie by Katie Davis, the new Nicholas Sparks one, Feathers from my Nest by Beth Moore.

21. What was your favorite music this year?

I always enjoy David Crowder and Jeremy Camp.

22. What were your favorite films of the year?

Surprisingly – Warrior.  I’m not a huge movie fan and that’s about all I can remember right now.  But, really, it was that good.  Go see it.

23. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 29 (which for those of you mathmeticians out there, means I’ll be 30 in a few weeks) – my Mom and Jim took us up to LA for Broadway’s Beauty and the Beast, Josiah took me out to Sushi, and we had a fun party at our house to wrap things up that weekend.  So fun J

24. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Being with Jesus.

25. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?

Hmm…I wouldn’t say I have much of a concept of fashion.  Comfortable.  And sometimes cute when I have the time.

26. What kept you sane?

JESUS!  The prayers of the righteous.  A husband who laughs with me.

27. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011.

It’s important to be secure in your convictions with Biblical support because there are many people even in the body who have differing opinions.  And although it can be challenging, we are called to help create unity whenver we can – using God’s Word as our Source.

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

