Our first few weeks…

Standard

So, here we are!  All settled in at home – well, for the most part.  We’re busy working on lots of stuff with Kadence – practicing Hebrew and going to begin on mathematical computations next week.  Okay, okay – so really all we do is pee, poop, cry (a little bit), sleep and make little squeaks.  Well, that’s what Kadence does.  Although, I suppose my days are very similar.

She is a great baby!  She only cries when she’s hungry.  Or in the car.  Now, the latter poses a little bit of a problem with an impending roadtrip to Colorado in a few weeks.  Thankfully, I was on the phone with my dad last night about to start our trek home from Denton and he asked if we’d tried a pacifier – oops!  Hadn’t even thought of that.  We were trying to avoid the pacifier but desperate times call for desperate measures.  And, let me tell you – that pacifier made for a much calmer hour ride home.  We will be saving that pacifier for car rides!

Kalyb is an AWESOME big brother.  Really, I don’t know what we’d do without his help around here.  He dotes on his little sister and can’t wait for the day he can hold her and walk around with her by himself.  Maybe once she can hold her head up!  He is so helpful in the car with entertaining her, defends her when we make fun of all of her tooting and is always talking to her, staring at her, kissing her, and telling stories. 

My mom flew into town the Friday after she was born and was here for a little over a week.  She cooked and cleaned and shopped and snuggled.  She absolutely spoiled us and I was devastated when she had to go 😦  Kadence and I spent the car ride home from the airport crying.  Kadence cried because she doesn’t like carseats and I cried due to just missing my Mom!  Oh wait, maybe Kadence was missing Mimi too 🙂  I was so thankful for that week with her.

She’s taking her time gaining weight and isn’t quite back up to her birth weight yet – she left the hospital at 6 lbs, 1 oz.  Two days later, she was at 5 lbs. 13 oz – two days after that, she was back up to 6 lbs. 1 oz.  Four days later she was at 6 lbs. 2 1/2 oz. and four days after that she was at 6 lbs. 5 oz.  Now we have to go back one more time next week to ensure she’s past birth weight.  She is in the 3rd percentile for weight and 30th percentile for height.  Which we think is hilarious – seeing as within six months, this more than likely won’t be the case!

We are so excited to have this little girl at home with us.  She is such a blessing to our family,  She is sleeping pretty good throughout the night – in 2 to 3 hour spurts and stays awake for a few hours throughout the day just staring and making all sorts of goofy faces. 

My daily prayer is that the Lord would bless her and keep her and make His face shine upon her and be gracious to her.  That He would turn His face toward her and give her peace.   

 

 

3

Smile!

Love

About KarolynK

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! My name is Karolyn (as you probably know) and I live in San Diego with my amazing Husband. I've been teaching Special Education for the bast six years and LOVE it! I am loving life and just trying to figure out if I'm doing what it is that God is wanting me to do....always a process! Thanks for sharing in this journey with me though, I really do appreciate it.

One response »

  1. love the blog, you, Kadence. I do recall asking about a pacifier. Glad it is working better for you in the care! MISS YOU. ps I was crying too. Hard to leave amazing daughter and her daughter!

Leave a Reply

